Hi All
This sure smells fishy to me.
Our admin team got contacted by someone working for "Design Web Solutions" in Sheffield (Fiona Cameron), saying that a 'Michael King' was trying to register some domains for 10 years that matched our limited company name.
For example " domainname.info / .eu / .biz / .org / .us " etc.
Fiona only noticed because they also wanted the domainname.ltd.com / domainname.ltd.net versions which is very unusual and what aroused her suspicions.
The total order was for £1500 which for her "small company" seemed very odd - so she wanted to check with me that it was ok for her to sell them on.
She said that she coudl get him to put a disclaimer on the webpage or better still she could let me reg them - as she had already them on hold ....
Flaws :
Quick 'G' check for "Design Web Solutions" and telephone number "0114 360 8485" brings back f-all.
When I call her back : 'reception' is on bad line, with a time delay and is answered by someone American. Not really very Sheffeld!!!
Last time I looked, domains.ltd.com is not a valid suffix / extension - you can reg .ltd.uk but what muppet wants to do that i the real world
Who actually wants to buy .biz except for spamming.
Willingness to let me reg them through her...
Summary :
Beware of this time-old crap....
Just a heads up - Fiona if you are real - apologies - but you need to sort out your sales patter and get a new receptionist that doesn't sound dodgy!!!
TW