Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk

Today's drop dates are 14-08-2008 & 21-08-2008  
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Lists SedoPro Code Domains For Sale NameDrive Domain Parking
Go Back   Domain Name Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Trade UK Domain Names > Domain Appraisals, Website Reviews, Domain Sales > Sold Domains

Sold Domains Discuss Domain Name that have been sold

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-02-2006, 02:57 PM   #1

 
lesurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 257
lesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond repute

Domain Offer - Advice Needed

Hi,

I just got some interest in one of my domains via e-mail. The only problem is I'm always paranoid that it's just a scam. The "interest to purchase" has come from an American Limited Co (LLC), however when I search for them from them on whitepages.com they are not listed, and worst of all the e-mail address is a @yahoo.co.uk one! On the flipside it hasn't just be sent to postmaster@mydomain.com, they sent it to the address listed in the whois.

I'm beginning to think it is a scam so what is the advice of others on this to suss them out? What should my response be? The e-mail wants an asking price that I would "condiser taking", if "we can agree on" this then they can "make payment securely and quickly via Escrow.com"

Advice on this would be much appreciated as I've only ever had a few serious offers and half of them have been scams.
lesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 03:11 PM   #2

 
deconstruction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,249
deconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond repute

i get a little jumpy too now.

but as long as the email seems genuine, and they pay before your hand over the name then no worries.

haggle out a price, and then see if they pay.

if they ask for any kind of independant evaluation make them pay for it.

let us know how you get on.
deconstruction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 03:12 PM   #3
apd

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 651
apd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond reputeapd has a reputation beyond repute

I just got this very same email today, same wording and everything, just ignore it because it's a scam of some sort.
__________________
Domain Names For Sale
apd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 03:36 PM   #4

 
lesurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 257
lesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond repute

Thanks for the advice on this - conclusion: scam
lesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 03:37 PM   #5

 
deconstruction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,249
deconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond repute

could you post you the wording of the email just so other people get to know the formats of scam emails?

maybe admin can set up a section for reporting domain scams?
deconstruction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 03:51 PM   #6

 
grantw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,861
grantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond repute

I dont get how this can be a scam - if they are going to pay via escrow.com then you would not have to give them any bank details or anything for the payment??

grant
__________________
Domain Brokerage :: Credit Report :: Domain Chat :: York Yoga
grantw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 04:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
nickbweb is on a distinguished road

if it looks anything like this it seems to be a scam as far as others are concerned

Quote:
"Hello,

Sorry to bother you, however I would like to ask if the xxxxx.com domain name is for sale.

If we can agree upon a price, I can make payment securely and quickly via Escrow.com.

Could you let us know what price you would consider?
Thank you greatly for your time. I anticipate your response.

Take care,
Sourced from: domainstate
nickbweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 04:24 PM   #8

 
lesurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London
Posts: 257
lesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond reputelesurf has a reputation beyond repute

Yes, it's the same e-mail as the one above, consensus is that this is a scam. Not too sure how the scam works as it's escrow so I've mailed back with a price just to see what they'll say next. I'll keep you updated...
lesurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 04:43 PM   #9

 
grantw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,861
grantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond reputegrantw has a reputation beyond repute

Im intrigued as to how this scam works.

Grant
grantw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2006, 04:43 PM   #10

 
deconstruction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,249
deconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond reputedeconstruction has a reputation beyond repute

thanks nickbweb and lesurf.

they will prob email back and ask you get the name appraised at a site of their chooisng and at your expense... useual trick...
deconstruction is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Domain names for sale! MAFIA Top Level Domain Names For Sale 9 09-03-2006 11:30 AM
Advice needed inshallah Sold Domains 5 13-11-2005 10:14 AM
Detagged Domain Names FAQ admin Detagged or Suspended UK Domain Names 0 04-11-2005 10:01 PM
UK Domain Name Glossary admin Introductions 0 25-03-2005 07:31 PM

Domain Sponsor


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85