![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Business Discussions Discuss domain or internet business matters |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Junior Member | CSC Global - www.cscglobal.com
CSC - www.cscglobal.com With respect to domain names, does anyone know: 1. If they're in the business of buying brandable domain names ahead of time to "protect" companies' interests, or 2. Are they contracted by a third party to use their expertise to acquire domains the third party is interested in securing. 3. Both Thanks in advance for any input. Mike |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Member |
They are similar to markmonitor.com and will be contracted by CompanyX or BrandX to look after their trademark issues amongst other things and this includes buying domains ahead of time or pursuing infringements to recover domains. Companies like these will have there own Nominet TAG as well being .com, etc registrars in order to protect there customers at the registrar level. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Junior Member |
Thanks Borris... So you're pretty certain they wouldn't buy up domains in the hopes that CompanyX / BrandX wouldn't want them down the road? Obviously if they bought domains and then tried to sell them to a third-party that have a claim (legal or not) to them, it would smack of bad faith. My assumptions on the company were the same as yours except I have noticed some weird registrations. The companies they've seemingly tried to "protect", I don't know as if they would use a company like CSC? That leads me to think there is some speculation taking place but I could be wrong. They seem to be managing 150k+ domains so the questionable domain is sure to show up. If anyone has had any experience dealing with them please pm me. Thanks |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Member |
Yes I am sure, they are a large legitimate brand protection company. Check out the whois of these well known brands. cnn.co.uk att.co.uk egg.co.uk Hope this helps I very much doubt they speculate. Without knowing the specific weird domain you mentioned there are a number of reasons such as future products, future trademarks, future brands, acquisitions, merges, typos etc etc. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Junior Member |
I know they're a legit operation - I've seen other examples where they've been used - thanks for those you've given. The "weird domains" may have been bought but not followed through on. What I'm saying is they weren't transferred to the third party and as they were acquired sometime ago I doubt they will be. I also doubt they were purchased as a "future product / trademark" as well. Maybe the third party didn't want to pay their bill? That's the reason why I wondered if they speculated too... I definitely agree that they're contracted by other businesses though to "take care" of their online profile. Do you mind me asking if you've had any specific dealings with them? PM if you need to. Thanks again |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| question about google monthly local search vol and global search vol | justwondering | Domain Research | 0 | 15-04-2010 05:53:47 PM |