Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk

Today's Drop Dates are: 18-02-2012 or 25-02-2012   All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00:53 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Disputes
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-04-2007, 03:07:49 AM     #1 (permalink)

 
Whois-Search's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Swad.com
Posts: 1,480
Whois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond repute

Thumbs down playboyracing.co.uk Appeal

http://www.nic.uk/digitalAssets/1767...ing_appeal.pdf
Whois-Search is offline  
Old 22-04-2007, 05:44:06 AM     #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,601
admin has disabled reputation

Another "game" example where they agree that "playboy" is a generic term and even though there is no registered Trade Mark for Playboy Racing, the name is passed over.

It seems if you put enough branding behind a generic word they will favour you in such decisions.
admin is online now  
Old 24-04-2007, 10:11:05 AM     #3 (permalink)

 
sneezycheese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 551
sneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond reputesneezycheese has a reputation beyond repute

Lots of very 'ODD' stuff with this one...

Starting with:

Quote:
8.1. Paragraph 2(a) of the Policy provides that, to be successful, the Complainant must prove on the balance of probabilities that:

(i) it has Rights in respect of a name or mark which is identical or similar to the Domain Name;
And:

Quote:
Panel does not have enough evidence to support a finding that the Complainant has Rights in the term PLAYBOY RACING as such.
...So how does all that fit into the great scheme of things?

More to follow...
sneezycheese is offline  
Old 24-04-2007, 11:28:37 AM     #4 (permalink)
rob
Founding Member
 
rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,976
rob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond repute

As I posted earlier to nom-steer:

> What do people think of this appeal decision?
>
> http://www.nic.uk/digitalAssets/1767...ing_appeal.pdf

I personally think it was the wrong decision.

The respondent was using a English term in a totally different context to the complainant.

The complainant admits and the panel acknowledges that there is not a TM for Playboy Racing:

" None of them explicitly cover horse racing activities, but many of them cover general aspects of sporting and gaming. There are no registrations for PLAYBOY RACING per se."

The end result is a legitimate small UK business damaged for negligible benefit to a very large American one.

In the initial decision it ended:
" It is not for me to consider whether or not the Respondent is guilty of trade mark infringement or passing off. That would be a matter for the courts to decide. But, for all the reasons outlined above, the Complainant has not in my view established that the Domain Name is an abusive registration as defined in the Policy."

However in the appeal it does seem that the implication is that passing off has occurred...?!

I would be interested to know if the Experts Review Group review (Formed by 'experts', reporting to 'experts' etc) as per http://www.nominet.org.uk/disputes/d.../expertsgroup/ has ever resulted in Nominet not renewing the contract of a DRS 'expert'.

Cheers,
Rob.
rob is offline  
Old 24-04-2007, 04:34:50 PM     #5 (permalink)

 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,273
grandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond repute

Thumbs down Trade Mark

You have to realise that having a registered trade mark is helpful in order to save on costly legal proceedings but not in itself enforceable under english law.

For example, one may have an unregistered right to trade under a specific mark and can overturn a later registered trade mark. The Patent seems to make it very clear that the courts are the only deciding place but it is in everyones interests to avoid the courts and come to a amicable solution.... hence why the Patent Office search, advise, examine, advertise, allow oppositions prior to registering a mark. What I don't agree with is this 'registering in bad faith' or the term 'abusive'.... how can anyone be deemed as acting in bad faith if so many parties haven't got a clue.... recently I had a TM application declined and then I recieved a later saying we have changed our mind and we are going to advertise the mark!!!

Too many get sued for not knowing any better and thats just sad
grandin is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Bounce Appeal Being Used In 'Expert' Decisions sneezycheese Domain Name Disputes 5 02-03-2007 11:08:59 PM
ukskunkworks.co.uk Appeal Pending Whois-Search Domain Name Disputes 1 26-02-2007 04:18:05 PM
playboyracing.co.uk Appeal pending Whois-Search Domain Name Disputes 8 22-02-2007 07:38:44 PM
Phone4U.co.uk Court of Appeal Decision Beasty Domain Name Disputes 17 31-05-2006 09:13:07 AM
ghd.co.uk appeal decision EdPhillips Domain Name Disputes 13 03-03-2006 06:13:24 PM

75% off Domains at Network Solutions®.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".