Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk

Today's Drop Dates are: 07-11-2011 or 14-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39:29 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Disputes
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-07-2007, 03:30:11 PM     #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Posts: 60
David is on a distinguished road

DRS - Bad Faith Question

Hello.

In my response to a complaint, can I use bad faith similar to the example below...

Blue Jumpers Ltd is founded in 2005. There is no evidence to show trade i.e. invoices etc except for certificate of incorporation.

Lets say in 2005 bluejumpers.co.uk is already registered and the owner is can't be contacted. For some reason Blue Jumpers Ltd don't proceed with the DRS.

In 2007 bluejumpers.co.uk drops and someone else registers it in good faith and begins to develop it. Blue Jumpers Ltd gets annoyed and starts a DRS.

What I am getting at is the company has waited until now to request the domain via a DRS even though they were incorporated 2 years before I owned the domain.

In the complaint they claim that they only operate by internet and phone but moan that they have recently (since bluejumpers.co.uk was caught) have had to register a similar domain i.e. blue-jumpers.co.uk. Why didn't they try and get bluejumpers.co.uk when the previous owner had it?

Because they are bitter at not getting the domain when it dropped?

Thanks.

Last edited by David; 25-07-2007 at 03:34:50 PM.
David is offline  
Old 25-07-2007, 05:53:36 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
enworb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 144
enworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond reputeenworb has a reputation beyond repute

I really hope that they don't have a leg to stand on. Are you certain that they didn't preceed with DRS with the previous owner and lost?
__________________
list of domains for sale
enworb is offline  
Old 25-07-2007, 06:03:41 PM     #3 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Posts: 60
David is on a distinguished road

Hi enworb

I dont know for sure that they didnt challenge the previous owners. Is there a way to check DRS disputes by name rather than case number?
David is offline  
Old 26-07-2007, 02:09:45 AM     #4 (permalink)
rob
Founding Member
 
rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,879
rob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by David View Post
In the complaint they claim that they only operate by internet and phone but moan that they have recently (since bluejumpers.co.uk was caught) have had to register a similar domain i.e. blue-jumpers.co.uk. Why didn't they try and get bluejumpers.co.uk when the previous owner had it?
What date was the hyphen one registered?


Quote:
Because they are bitter at not getting the domain when it dropped?
More than likely.

Quote:
I dont know for sure that they didnt challenge the previous owners. Is there a way to check DRS disputes by name rather than case number?
You can use google to do keyword searches on the Nominet site, that includes the PDFs of decisions.

For the DRS they need to show rights and abusive use so keep an eye on the latter.
__________________
Eat more chips! Dont let salad win! I am rob who runs hey. Twitter:@robcouk.
how to sell a website | sell your website to me whats the number for milk tokens? TDA BB Wrexham
rob is offline  
Old 26-07-2007, 09:25:38 AM     #5 (permalink)

 
bb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,561
bb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond reputebb99 has a reputation beyond repute

David

It's easy, when responding to a DRS, to get lost in the weeds... Just to elaborate on Rob's final sentence, the complainant needs to prove two things:

- firstly that they have rights in the name

- secondly that your registration/use is abusive

Taking their rights, just having a limited company called "Blue Jumpers Limited" does not automatically give them enough rights in a DRS. As you have pointed out, they need to show that they have built up rights in the name... and they can do this by providing information such as advertising, invoices, etc. If they have just relied upon a Certificate of Incorporation then this puts them in a very precarious position as they may not even pass the first hurdle of the DRS when (if) the expert makes the decision.

On the second point, if you can prove that you made preparations to develop the domain name (or indeed started developing it) then this will go a long way to helping prove that your registration was not abusive. To assist in proving this, you should supply as much evidence as you can such as invoices, emails and maybe even source code or mock ups of the pages.

Going back to one of your other posts, the fact that the name may have been registered using a dropcatching service may muddy the water a bit - but not if you have dotted all the Is and crossed all the Ts in respect of the points above.

Good luck
bb99 is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Newbie Question - eu,biz and us domains jwm Domain Research 5 27-04-2007 01:51:46 PM
newb question on .com contact details Mendis Domain Research 3 27-03-2006 07:21:15 PM
quick question on bad faith Mendis Domain Name Disputes 4 22-03-2006 09:59:30 PM
Another bad faith / abusive registration question bb99 Domain Name Disputes 5 22-03-2006 02:57:55 PM
Question about DRS etc Brassneck Domain Name Disputes 2 10-10-2005 05:13:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".