Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk affiliate window

Today's Drop Dates are: 18-02-2012 or 25-02-2012   All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22:56 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Disputes
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2006, 07:33:06 PM     #11 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,387
domaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdPhillips
Finally, I should point out that I personally believe that if matters are decided in appeals, it is helpful for them to be put into the policy/procedure for the longer term, to reduce the need for parties to read past decisions. You will note that the 'no coming back' rule from the bravissimo.co.uk appeal now appears in the appeal rules in the policy/procedure, and that approach is likely to continue.
OK that would be good. In that case, according to the ghd decision then,
9.3 onwards and particularly 9.3.16 (and as would be pleaded in the High Court if the matter was a legal case) any breach of trademark claim for a domain name should go through the Courts and NOT through DRS. That is what it says.
OK so in future that that means that registration of a trademark name and attempts to sell such domains to "a" trademark holder is NOT abusive. I think that this decision will cause problems for Nominet if they ever decide a future case in a way apposite to the ghd case. Lets see what actally happens.

DG
domaingenius is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 02:09:30 PM     #12 (permalink)

 
ratboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,205
ratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond reputeratboy has a reputation beyond repute

As a local company to me, I know that GHD grew out of a very small warehouse in a posh residential area. I have several friends who have worked their throughout their super-quick rise up the growth curve.

This DRS is the lawyers doing, which probably came out from the marketing company which ghd have to thank for their success.

It'll match the bosses wifes private plate on her Range Rover anyhow.
__________________
I run Top Search Ltd

Last edited by ratboy; 03-03-2006 at 02:11:54 PM.
ratboy is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 05:49:56 PM     #13 (permalink)
Nominet Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Oxfordshire
Posts: 80
EdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond reputeEdPhillips has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by domaingenius
OK that would be good. In that case, according to the ghd decision then,
9.3 onwards and particularly 9.3.16 (and as would be pleaded in the High Court if the matter was a legal case) any breach of trademark claim for a domain name should go through the Courts and NOT through DRS. That is what it says.
No, not quite. It says that, for certain very technical trade mark infringements, the DRS is inappropriate. It does not say that "any" trade mark case should be for the courts not the DRS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by domaingenius
OK so in future that that means that registration of a trademark name and attempts to sell such domains to "a" trademark holder is NOT abusive. I think that this decision will cause problems for Nominet if they ever decide a future case in a way apposite to the ghd case. Lets see what actally happens.

DG
Remember, Nominet doesn't decide any of the cases, and appeals are not binding (see 10(c), as discussed).

Also, I suspect that your interpreation of the case is a bit general - the panel is specifically picking on the situation where there was no abuse at registration, and later there is only an offer to sell to the rights holder or the rights holder's authorised distributors - which is a rather specific lacuna. They do not suggest that sale to competitors would be acceptable.
EdPhillips is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 06:13:24 PM     #14 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,387
domaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdPhillips
No, not quite. It says that, for certain very technical trade mark infringements, the DRS is inappropriate. It does not say that "any" trade mark case should be for the courts not the DRS.
Clause 9.3.16 reads, quote "If what the respondent has done amounts to trademark infringment (and the panel is by no means certain that it does-the UK case law on the subject is largely if not exclusively in relation to domain names which have been registered with abusive intent) the court is the proper forum for determining the issue , not an administrative proceeding under the Nominet DRS"

OK my reading of that ,if I was referring to this as case law to a Court would be that the precedent had been established by the C of A (in this case the appeal panel of the DRS) that the Nominet DRS is not the correct forum for any claim involving trademark infringment. Therefore in a Court of law it would be very hard for a complainant to use "trademark infringment" contentions in any part of the claim (DRS) no matter what they were trying to prove.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdPhillips
No, not quite. It says that, for certain very technical trade mark infringements, the DRS is inappropriate.
Please advise which clause says that as I cannot see those words that you quote ?.


Quote:
Originally Posted by EdPhillips
Remember, Nominet doesn't decide any of the cases,
Who employees and pays the "independent" arbitrators ?.

DG
domaingenius is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Nominet DRS decision on 3 letter domain name Noble Pasty Domain Name Disputes 2 24-01-2006 06:11:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".