![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #11 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
DG | |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
Such an approach also sends out a message to other potential litigants in the future - "we've got deep pockets and we won't hesitate to do you properly - why would we DRS you when we can bankrupt you instead??". Perhaps someone with the relevant legal brain could shed some light?
__________________ Droppr - finely tuned .uk dropcatching for Nominet members Gazebo | Flyers, Postcards | Tree Surveys | Dent Repairs Leeds | Poster Printing | |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
Isn't this a good reason why we should all try to work towards making the DRS a tad more palatable to all stakeholder groups including domainers? (Whilst the £3k appeals fee is certainly a barrier to some; and I personally acknowledge that; it's a lot cheaper than the figures you are quoting above.) Regards James Conaghan | |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
As a ‘Natural Monopoly’ and the social responsibilities that it is ‘supposed’ to bring, it certainly doesn’t seem fair that those who can least afford the appeal fee end being charged the most… To summarise: a corporation ends up actually only paying £3,000 for an appeal as they can claim the VAT back, while a lowly individual ends up paying £3,525 and (of course) can’t claim the VAT back! So in this sense it’s a double whammy for the ‘little guy’. In addition, those people who would be certainly exempt form paying court fees and more than likely receive some form of ‘legal aid’, once again get ‘stuffed’ by a system that takes no account of an individuals ability to pay… So it would seem that Nominet ‘currently’ (and lets hope things change) do not live up to their social (and possible legal) responsibility in the privileged position they currently hold. Last edited by sneezycheese; 20-05-2006 at 01:16:23 PM. | |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | |||
![]() | Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Regards James Conaghan [PAB Member] | |||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
![]() | Affiliate expert comment requested
Taking a look at the Phone4U.co.uk site before it is taken down, it strikes me that it is basically a "whitelabel" affiliate site for e2save.com. e2save is in turn part of Carphone Warehouse. Anyone agree/disagree with my analysis of the websites? Now, if this is right, it may explain why (according to the Appeal judgment) there seems to have been only a limited amount of information about the trading status of Phone4U.co.uk. LJ Jacob puts this down to a limited level of turnover - and therefore a small number of customers. It assists him in reaching the conclusion that the fact that Phone4U.co.uk co-existed for a long time with its larger rival is not relevant. He focusses on the handful of sales made some years ago as an indication of the number of customers the business has - since it seems to have been the only evidence on the point provided to him. Some of you guys will have a much better knowledge than me of affiliate schemes such as this. Could you comment on the likely payment that e2save might make (per sale) on such a deal? If we tie that to the turnover of the business - could we come up with an estimate for the number of phones sold and so the number of customers the business had? |
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
![]() | Passing off
I personally feel that someone who is clearly passing off should be made accountable. However, the experts have a lack of understanding in respect to what is in a domain name in its original state (unused). Trade Mark registration has a strict criteria....you must ask why has it got a strict criteria when domain name registration does not. You cannot use Trade Mark registration as a means to decide ownership of domain names unless you have a very clever trade mark........ for example toysrus is a very clever trade mark because the name (without any device) is descriptive of its class of trade. So anyone who registers the domain name toysrus cannot claim to be used for any other class of goods apart from toys...why else would you register such a name? Lets look at this drs case ciallis. Whilst the right decision was made (passing off would probably be proven in a court of law) the written DRS decision is incorrect. The expert claims that the name is non generic....this has no bearing and therefore can mislead domain name registrants.....can the old domain name holder register ciallis as a trade mark in a class of goods that has no overlap with the complainants class of goods? yes, the question I would like to know....is it immoral to copy a name because you like the name....surely all names are copied as some point....for example hoover. If the expert is of the opinion that 'generic' is important then at what point does a word become generic? When two people use it?.... I do not understand why drs has complicated a very simple use of common sense....is it to protect trade mark holders from something that is unprotectable? |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
I agree wholeheartedly ,particularly with the last paragraph. I do NOT think that the phone4u.co.uk is a good one to use as any kind of campaign against drs simply because to use a domain that only misses the "s" from the TM and was used for exact same business is hard to get away from. Now Game is a different matter because there you do not have the "4u" bit which kind of makes it distinctive. As ive aid, I think that drs does not really know what it is meant to be doing, nor does Nominet seem to know whether it wants to be "Nominet Courts of Justice" or a non profit making UK Registry. Nominet, get out of DRS ,hand it to Patent Office and let them deal with it on strict TM laws taking into account the REASON that the TM used to complain was granted in the 1st place, i.e. because a common word can be made distinctive because it is in multi colours or changed in some way., PLEASE, DG | |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| Email asking for eu domain bought on 7th April | ScottJ | Domain Name Disputes | 38 | 18-05-2006 01:41:20 PM |
| Tesco court case | EdPhillips | Domain Name Disputes | 1 | 15-03-2006 09:33:33 AM |
| ghd.co.uk appeal decision | EdPhillips | Domain Name Disputes | 13 | 03-03-2006 06:13:24 PM |
| Appeals court upholds Sex.com ruling | admin | Domain Name News | 0 | 04-04-2005 09:40:29 AM |