Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk affiliate window

Today's Drop Dates are: 18-02-2012 or 25-02-2012   All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52:33 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Disputes
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-05-2006, 01:58:44 PM     #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Woodhouse is on a distinguished road

Question Disputes with .com domains

Hi there

I wonder if anyone can help.

I have a business which has been trading since 2002 and the name is a registered trademark in the UK.

The .com domain has always been owned by a company in the US. They are some sort of firm that enable people to buy domains on mass to resell.

I have just noted that the .com domain is now being used by a sort of shopping portal and they acquired it in 2003. They are not selling any goods just linking to various sites.

I understand that I have to go through ICANN for .com disputes but I cannot understand the complaints procedure

Can anyone provide any information how how you go about logging a complaint, or are there companies the the UK who can assist with this?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Woodhouse
Woodhouse is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 02:18:26 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,387
domaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond reputedomaingenius has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodhouse
Hi there

I wonder if anyone can help.

I have a business which has been trading since 2002 and the name is a registered trademark in the UK.

The .com domain has always been owned by a company in the US. They are some sort of firm that enable people to buy domains on mass to resell.

I have just noted that the .com domain is now being used by a sort of shopping portal and they acquired it in 2003. They are not selling any goods just linking to various sites.

I understand that I have to go through ICANN for .com disputes but I cannot understand the complaints procedure

Can anyone provide any information how how you go about logging a complaint, or are there companies the the UK who can assist with this?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Woodhouse

If you have a legitimate claim that is legally enforceable then I would make an approach to the owner firstly and see if they will sell and how much they want. THEN look further depending on the answer you get.

DG
domaingenius is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 02:19:35 PM     #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Woodhouse is on a distinguished road

Thanks for your reply.

I will try that.

Thank you
Woodhouse is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 02:23:31 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,188
Jeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond reputeJeewhizz has a reputation beyond repute

The UDRP process is quite expensive. You will need a Stateside Lawyer to handle it for you iirc. http://www.icann.org/udrp/udrp.htm

Jee
Jeewhizz is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 02:46:13 PM     #5 (permalink)

 
texidriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beckofbeyond
Posts: 491
texidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond repute

Welcome Woodhouse

FYI

http://arbiter.wipo.int/center/faq/domains.html#15
texidriver is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 03:13:04 PM     #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Woodhouse is on a distinguished road

Thanks for that

There is just so much information to digest
Woodhouse is offline  
Old 23-05-2006, 04:02:37 PM     #7 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 226
netserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud of

Sorry, but I don't think you've had good advice so far on this thread.

You need to prove 3 things to get the domain. Rights to the domain eg TM, use and registration in bad faith, and the current owner has no legitimate right to the domain.

If you approach the owner and ask how much then want then you've made the first move. Their response is then less of a bad faith issue because you asked for a price. Bad faith would be them making an out of the blue offer to sell to you. You could contact them and point out that you are a TM holder and that any use in a related field would be breach of TM but then that tends to put them on alert.

WIPO/UDRP will cost you $1500, and if you've got a good brain you can get a lot of information and template complaint forms to hand it yourself. I'm sure there will be guys on here that could offer assistance for £ or free if you really needed.

From what you say you have TM rights, the current owner doesn't appear to have any rights to the domain so all that is left is bad faith. It would be worth while reading section 4 here http://www.icann.org/udrp/udrp-policy-24oct99.htm before you make any contact so that you can give them a helping hand to shoot themselves in the foot with their response.
netserve is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".