![]() |
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
![]() | Legal action being threatened
I regged a .co.uk name back in June 2004. The name was not trademaked then in the UK as evidenced by the trademark database. However I now have a letter from the solcicitors of the company which runs the .com threatening legal action. They state that they have the trademake - which they do. However the trademark was filed *after* my registration of the name. they are then asking me to transfer the domain within 10 days or they will take legel action. Does anyone have any thoughts or advice? |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
![]() |
because they own the trademark to a domain DOES NOT mean they own the rights to the domain. But how valid a drs against you... which is the only way they can get the domain from you depends on a number of things. And the onus is on them to prove this. 1. did you register the name to block or cause disruption to their company or use of the domain. 2. are you using the name as passing off against their company. 3. are you using the domain as a valid use? parking and web advertisement isn't pretty but it's a valid use. 4. is the name generic? Solicitors like sending threatening letters. Makes then feel better about being sad little pringle wearing people. A decent IP solicitor wouldn't have done this. Not at least without a vlaid case first. Check the nominet policy/procedure on the nominet web site S |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
| Member | Quote:
"parking and web advertisement isn't pretty but it's a valid use." not a valid use according to the expert decision. everybody should now be worried | |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
Can we get this clear..... Michael are you suggesting that dispite Nominet suggesting that PPC is a business usage, and so you cannot opt out of whois, it is now suggested that it isn't a valid business usage? If thats the case, thats as clear as mud! OB | |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
![]() |
??????????????????
|
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: The Island of Mustique, St. Vincent & The Grenadines
Posts: 1,145
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Domain Trader Rating: (100% / 4) | Quote:
| |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
webservers & cyclone + others say differently. It's all in the expert decision and the information they're given. Yours was unique to a degree because of the non-response (mail/no-mail). I hope the meeting last week that discussed drs have some impact on this, because litigation by companies who presume a right to the domain because they get a retrospective trademark in a certain class will be more frequent. And I meant is the domain generic (e.g glosspaint & not dulux - sorry diying, all I could think of) and not being used generically. S | |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| are railing banners legal | SecNam | General Board | 7 | 26-05-2006 12:18:03 AM |
| Tesco.com wins trade-mark action - Freshinfo | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 30-03-2006 05:59:06 PM |
| Legal advice affiliate scheme - pay out rates | bb99 | Affiliate Marketing | 6 | 22-09-2005 05:45:44 PM |
| Legal fight over iTunes UK domain | SecNam | Domain Name News | 0 | 07-08-2005 03:39:52 PM |