Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk

Today's drop dates are 09-07-2008 & 16-07-2008  
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Lists SedoPro Code Domains For Sale NameDrive Domain Parking
Go Back   Domain Name Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Trade UK Domain Names > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Disputes

Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2006, 11:09 AM   #61

 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
disruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant futuredisruptive has a brilliant future

I really feel like taking companies on...perhaps I'll register a trademark for a name that I really take the shine too. It might take some research but I can do it....trouble is it might be one of you guys that own it.
disruptive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006, 05:17 PM   #62

 
texidriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beckofbeyond
Posts: 504
texidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond reputetexidriver has a reputation beyond repute

even a blind pig finds an acorn sometimes

"It is believed that the Respondent has engaged in a pattern of such behaviour, evidenced by the fact that the Respondent presently holds 2793 ‘.co.uk’ domain names, many of which appear to correspond to the trade mark rights of third parties.

– he therefore has a track record of hijacking other people’s names.

A previous decision was made against the Respondent in 2003 [sic], ordering the transfer of the website universityoflondon.co.uk to the lawful owner of that name (DRS 1740).

The Respondent has established no legitimate interest under the Domain Name and appears to have engaged in passing off by registering domain names that correspond to the trade mark rights of third parties. This evidences Abusive Registration."

http://www.acorndomains.co.uk/DRS/bounce%20appeal.pdf



"Although some of the domain names registered by Respondent do raise questions, a bare list of domain names without evidence of how they are being used and whether they reflect bad faith, and a single adverse decision, do not make a pattern. Moreover, even if it were a pattern, and even if Respondent was found to have been a cybersquatter in another case, the question in this case is whether Respondent has cybersquatted this Domain Name.

(decisions against same respondent in other actions is not necessarily relevant because “[e]ven a blind pig finds an acorn sometimes”)."

the Complaint is denied."

http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2006-0445.html

DRS or UDRP. some experts are more expert.

Last edited by texidriver; 21-07-2006 at 05:43 PM.
texidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006, 05:20 PM   #63

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,075
aqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond repute

Nice one texi.

Incidentally, the reason he didn't reply to Nominet emails in the first place was to establish categorically that there were other more pertinent interpretations of the term bounce . . .

-aqls-
aqls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006, 11:14 PM   #64

 
Whois-Search's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: London
Posts: 1,248
Whois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond reputeWhois-Search has a reputation beyond repute

I'm not sure who did the PRSS lookup on Michael Toth's names (which you have to pay an extra £400 + VAT for http://www.nominet.org.uk/other/prss/) but the problem is it's written into the DRS policy:

http://www.nominet.org.uk/disputes/drs/policy/

Quote:
3. C. iii. The Complainant can demonstrate that the Respondent is engaged in a pattern of registrations where the Respondent is the registrant of domain names (under .uk or otherwise) which correspond to well known names or trade marks in which the Respondent has no apparent rights, and the Domain Name is part of that pattern;
"Pattern" only appears in the UDRP at:

Quote:
4.b.(ii) you have registered the domain name in order to prevent the owner of the trademark or service mark from reflecting the mark in a corresponding domain name, provided that you have engaged in a pattern of such conduct;
http://www.icann.org/udrp/udrp-policy-24oct99.htm
Whois-Search is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2006, 11:29 PM   #65

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,075
aqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond repute

so change policy.

-aqls-
aqls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2006, 05:14 AM   #66

 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 994
grandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond reputegrandin has a reputation beyond repute

It differs

The case also notes: Because the Policy requires a showing of both bad-faith registration and bad-faith use

This differs to the DRS where it seems it can be one or the other or both
grandin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Phone4U.co.uk Court of Appeal Decision Beasty Domain Name Disputes 17 31-05-2006 10:13 AM
1st published ADR decision domaingenius .EU Domains 1 19-04-2006 06:34 PM
WIPO decision texidriver Domain Name Disputes 1 15-03-2006 08:44 AM
ghd.co.uk appeal decision EdPhillips Domain Name Disputes 13 03-03-2006 06:13 PM
Nominet DRS decision on 3 letter domain name Noble Pasty Domain Name Disputes 2 24-01-2006 06:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81