![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Disputes Discuss domain disputes, Nominet DRS or UDRP |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #11 (permalink) | |
| Banned | Quote:
Edit: and domain. | |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
![]() | money back guarantee
....handing back everybody's money. That is certainly minimum Nominet should do!!! Are they selling an illgeal item...A domain name is named prior to contract...I would therefore return it...its was never fit for the purpose...get your money back Lee |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
![]() |
It makes a mockery of the first come first served basis Nominet are always on about. The whois for mercer.co.uk shows it was regged by IMO in 2004 - If this 2 bit recruitment consultants that nobodys ever heard of registered mercer.com in 1992, you'd have thought they'd have come in much earlier for this name. Or maybe they've been waiting for a better chance of winning the DRS. Another "expert" with blood on his hands
__________________ Alex |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | |||||||||
![]() |
Having read the DRS a few points of view to yet again another DRS with a dubious outcome. The expert seems to have really been overwed by the international business interests if the extensive initial history of the mercer group. In reality they have rights but that is limited to being a company with the same name as the domain, and in having trademarks in the certain area of expertise. In itself this is NO right to own the registration to the uk domain name, which is by Nominets own policy on a first come first served basis. That the current registrant has no direct relationship to the name... which is a common british surname! is NOT relevent. Quote:
Quote:
And 3(ii) & 3(iii) clearly not relevent. So how is this an abusive registration? Quote:
It's interesting that the DRS dispute brochure wording says Quote:
Moving on: Quote:
Quote:
And again domain sales and domain resales business is a recognised and established and accepted practice both for the .uk and all other major tld's and that domains have an intrinsic business value greatly in excess of the out-of-pocket transaction value. Quote:
Ok moving on to the 'expert decision'. Policy 3a(i)(a) is crucial. Quote:
Quote:
i. That the respondent must have known about the complainant pre-registration and that they registsered the domain name primarily with the intent to sell to the complainant or a competitor of the complaiant. Clearly the expert on the basis of the evidence provided can NOT make this decision. NO NO NO. This is a subjective leap of judgement which has no place in a drs, as has the expert doing their own research based on incorrect usage of search engine results. ii. That having no current plans to develop or develop the domain is evidence of abuse. The expert clearly states that 3(a)(1)(c) has NOT been proven then states that [quote] MERCER has a high profile in the business and financial community. It follows that this has probably attracted visitors to the Domain Name website thereby resulting in a profit to the Respondent with each click on the related Google links, thereby taking unfair advantage of the Complainant’s Rights.[\QUOTE] The expert assumes that the primary use of the word 'mercer' is as a descriptor of business and financial services, igoring the root of the word and the countless other defined uses of it. AND that the respondent is making advantage of the complainant by placing adverts on the site: The fact thaat: 1.The adverts have NO relation to the sectors of the complainant. They advertise geneology,and that; 2.Parking of the domain is and has been clearly demonstrated as proof of policy 4(a)(ii) Is this the experts 'opinion' now coming out? The policy states that the complainant has to PROVE rights and abuse. There has been an increasing trend towards the experts working off the principle that because a complainant has proved rights that the registrant has now to prove that they have legitimate rights. This is clearly NOT policy and is a trend that HAS TO STOP. This is a fundemental flaw in the drs workings that the PAB has to address and if necessary re-educate the experts. The domain sales & resales business is established and accepted. This has to be clearly recognised by the PAB and so by extension the experts. Domain parking and affiliate advertising are a recognised and accepted use of a domain. And that dormant and or no current development of the domain is NOT evidence to be used as abusive registration. As a caveat to this adverts trading off the rights of the complainanty, excluding the generic sectors pertaining to the domain name, are to be avoided. What does it take to become an 'expert' maybe I should put my name forward Stephen | |||||||||
| |
| | #15 (permalink) |
![]() | Disagree sliightly
I disagree slightly with stephen. The mark mercer is a surname and company/business name(s)....there are many 'rights' holders linked to this name. However its not generic in the sense its a common word/term. The question is... did the respondent intend to use the name for email etc... or did he just buy it to sell to one of these 'rights' holders? The expert (in my opnion) came to the conclusion that the respondent took advantage of 'rights' holders. The respondent gave no evidence to show that he intended to use the name for email, INSTEAD he set up ppc and added a for sale sign. The confusion comes in the remedy. Just because the complaint complained does not give him unequivocal rights to the name...I personally think it should have been cancelled and made re-available on a first come first served basis.....BUT maybe the respondent should have been given an opportunity to honour what he said he wanted to do ie...email for many 'rights' holders........everyone makes mistakes even the Patent Office Lee |
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
![]() |
IMO brilliant post Stephen. Lee says - and makes a good point "The confusion comes in the remedy. Just because the complaint complained does not give him unequivocal rights to the name...I personally think it should have been cancelled and made re-available on a first come first served basis..." But according to the wording of this DRS, the only people who are allowed rights to this name are people called "Mercer", company's with "Mercer" in their trading name or entities with trademarks containing the word "Mercer". So theoretically, who has the right to own smiths.co.uk? Smiths Crisps WH Smiths An organisation thats spent (place your own figure) on catching dropping domain names and parks them or Anyone or business called Smith. It's beyond me.
__________________ Alex |
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
![]() |
...and if the current PAB does nothing? The sanction is to vote them off one by one. A candidate wishing to be elected on this issue simply needs to publish a manifesto declaring the present DRS process faulty and in need of a revamp. Then we will see from the voting just how much of an issue DRS Decisions are to the electorate. Some on the PAB need removing generally due to their overly compliant attitudes. What the DRS needs is oversight of Decisions vis-a-vis the wording of the Policy. Experts have to be told to go away and think again if they have clearly misinterpreted the wording. The wording is quite precise. Otherwise 'disrepute'. |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
![]() | I have asked Nominet
Ellis, I asked Nominet whether it is ok to buy a rights name that you will use in a manner that helps many rights holders....Nominet wouldn't tell me...so I am left in the dark AGAIN.... Examples:- yellow pages...google all do the same...make money out of rights holders...what does 118 500 do???......they run a directory of names and make money from it............. TO NOMINET:- WE ALL MAKE MISTAKES BUT YOU CAN'T TAKE AWAY A DOMAIN NAME UNTIL YOU EDUCATE US HOW TO ACT WITH IT........UNFAIR TO EXPECT TOO MUCH OF US WHEN THE PATENT OFFICE CAN'T ACCURATELY ASSESS RIGHTS...GIVE US A CHANCE TO MAKE GOOD ANY WRONG WHEN WE USE WHAT WE THINK IS A GENERIC DOMAIN NAME Lee |
| |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| Administrator |
Good discussion, nice post Stephen. I own the .co.uk for my surname, the .COM is owned by a huge mining Company in Canada - what happen sif they decide they want to move into the UK market? Based on the Mercer decision I could well lose it... Thank god there is nothing left worth mining in the UK
__________________ Domain Appraisal | Domain Escrow Service | UK Appliances | Surrey Deals | Domain Auctions from Acorn Domains Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter :: Submit a Domain For Sale to our newsletter :: Domains For Sale |
| |
| | #20 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
Saying that, what about most of the surnames (and by relation placenames) in the uk. Tha vast majority are NOT owner by people with 'surname' rights. A lot are owned by cumulative registrants owning large numbers of them and providing information links. Is this a valid use of them. This case clearly goes against this!! Ok so this DRS is not about a generic, but the above applies. | |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |