![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #21 (permalink) | |
| Junior Member | Quote:
Notice the identical about us pages: http://www.mainstreamtech.co.uk/index.php?page=aboutus http://www.loovar.co.uk/about.php More scammed people: http://www.davidhurst.co.uk/2007/06/...0870-850-2820/ Coder Last edited by Coder; 20-08-2007 at 08:32:25 PM. | |
| |
| | #22 (permalink) |
![]() |
Let this be a lesson about 'high pressure' phone sales. If you are a consumer ( rather than a business) you have the Distance Selling Rules to support you. As a business customer watch out !- your only redress is the courts. As the recipient of many phone calls offering dodgy internet directory lisitings wanting instant sign ups - keep a big a sign on your desk to remind you to say 'NO' like I do - LOL If a cold caller's offer is genuine, of value and of urgent attention then an email to you summarising what they are offering and why you should act, is only reasonable and a reply from you when you have had time to consider (check elsewhere) is also reasonable. If they won't put it in writing then I would suggest it only because it is neither genuine nor something you should act on. Just my opinion - having worked in professional sales environment, where putting stuff in writing was expected. JohnP |
| |
| | #23 (permalink) | |
| Junior Member | Quote:
In fact sitting here I can't quite believe how I was sucked in. Feel a right mug! | |
| |
| | #24 (permalink) |
![]() |
They are doing exactly the same as these http://www.zdnet.co.uk/tsearch/domain+name+scam.htm http://www.nominet.org.uk/disputes/legalinfo/scams/ http://www.nominet.org.uk/disputes/c...domainregserv/ From what I remember there were a couple of companies around the swansea area ended up in court on criminal charges
__________________ Hard work never killed anybody - but why take the chance Last edited by Rich; 20-08-2007 at 09:08:20 PM. |
| |
| | #25 (permalink) | |
| Junior Member | Quote:
| |
| |
| | #26 (permalink) |
![]() |
If you want more details: http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/d7...39/compdetails I think its £1/2 for the company info...inc directors...so could be worth the investment... anyone tempted to ring them up? If they did that to me or tried it with me or my family. I would send the boys in |
| |
| | #27 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
| |
| |
| | #28 (permalink) | |
![]() |
A client of mine had these people contact them on the back of me selling a domain name to them (my client). Here is the clients email to me. Note domain name and names changed. Quote:
| |
| |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| Junior Member |
Hi Guys, Didn't receive a reply from www.Loovar.co.uk today. Didn't really expect either, seen as they're scammers! Have been advised by my bank that the money has gone out of my account and to contact VISA disputes which I will do shortly. I also remember the woman(I could think of other words for her) saying I would get 1 year free if I registered for 2 years. The current expiry date is showing two years. Can you register .info,.biz,.eu,.net for 3 years or one year (in two years time?) Could be more grounds for dispute/misprepresentation! I've posted here http://www.davidhurst.co.uk/2007/06/...0870-850-2820/ to update people of their new trading name. Also plan to look for as many scam forums/websites as possible to warn people. Have informed Met Police( Fraud Squad) and reported them to their service provider SupaNames, (along with Trading Standards and Nominet). Oh!, and nice to see Google have already indexed this thread in a Loovar search! Coder ---------- |
| |
| | #30 (permalink) |
| Junior Member | Filthy Scammers
These guys have been around for a while. I first came across them as Mainstream Tech Ltd. I put a post on my blog and it got a lot of comments, so I set up a website to focus specifically on domain name scams (www.domainscams.co.uk). We are trying to get Trading Standards to shut them down. If you have an experience, please post it on my site also, as TS are using it to build evidence. Thanks. |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| IE Domain Registrations exceed 75000 - FinFacts Ireland | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 10-04-2007 12:59:29 PM |
| Microsoft Office Live catching up with Yahoo! - iTWire | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 31-05-2006 03:00:09 AM |
| UK domain registrations reach 5 million - Net4now | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 25-05-2006 10:59:08 AM |
| NamesBeyond Launches dotMobi Registrations for Mobile Industry ... - TMCnet | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 24-04-2006 12:59:06 PM |