Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk Free Virtual Servers

Today's Drop Dates are: 07-11-2011 or 14-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 03:48:43 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-09-2007, 07:55:28 AM     #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
sdkay72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mcr
Posts: 13
sdkay72 is on a distinguished road

confused with pool and snapname

... I got a .com through snapname waiting for it to expire, I also registered my interest using pool ( which I did first). Snapname got there first and took my dollar. it even shows up as snapname registered on whois.
Now I have received an email from pool saying that they have registered it, to which I replied with my query about snapname to which I got back this:

"I can confirm that we have acquired the domain *********.com. If it was registered elsewhere then that registration was deleted because the domain was released at the registry today. A whois search at http://www.whois-search.com clearly shows it was registered via one of our registrar partners today."

they have taken money and it's still on whois with snapname. not happy, but worst of all don't know what to do next.

any thoughts ppl, is there a governing body who frown upon such activities ?

cheers in advance
sdkay72 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 09:25:52 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
woopwoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,483
woopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond reputewoopwoop has a reputation beyond repute

Did you get an email from them saying "congratulations, we have acquired this domain for you..." or something similar.

I know when I've got names in the past with these services they tend to use their name first and because they use a bunch of registrars to go after the name for you, you will eventually be sent the log in details for the registrar who the domain is held at.

Give them a quick call or email.

But I wouldn't be too worried if you have received an email indicating that they have caught the name for you. Especially if they have taken the $60 or whatever it is.
woopwoop is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 03:48:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".