![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Lists | SedoPro Code | Domains For Sale | NameDrive | Domain Parking |
| |||||||
| Home | Register | Domain Auctions [1] | FAQ | Membership Upgrade | Featured Domain Listing | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings. |
![]() |
| | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 | |
![]() | Heads up on a possible PM then MSNGR then Paypal scam Thought I'd give a heads up on a possible PM then MSNGR then Paypal scam that may be happening with a member on acorn. I won't mention the username of who I think might be doing this but the MO, seems identical to a scam outlined on another webmaster forum: A user with 0 posts PM'ed me here about one of my domains and said: Quote:
I searched the guys email after he added me, and uncovered a thread in a forum which outlined how this person did a deal on msngr for a couple of domains, paid paypal, the domains were transfered and he confirmed he received the names, then he requested a full refund through paypal, and they processed it. I don't know how paypal are able to refund the money even though the items were transfered (unless a stolen credit card was used) but they did, leaving the seller without the money or domains. I haven't yet had chance to chat with the guy yet but I think that if this is a scam and he's doing it again, then there's a good chance other people on the forum have been pm'ed about their domains too. Be very careful and I don't know how you can prevent this from happening. Is there a certain amount of time after which paypal can't do a chargeback and so it would be safe to then transfer the domains...? Look out for someone PM-ing you the message above with zero forum posts. | |
| | |
| | #2 |
| Administrator | Thanks for the alert, 1 forum post or not PayPal doesn't seem a safe bet for receiving domain funds.
__________________ 9p Domains | Domain Appraisal | Droplists | Domain Brokerage | Find Valuable Domains | Link to us | Domain Software New to UK Domain Names? - Go Here | Check Drop Dates | Domain Transfers | Game Consoles Make more money from your Domain Names with SedoPro - PM for a free activation code! |
| | |
| | #3 |
![]() | it's indefinite the time they can claw the money back, if they attempt to claw the money from you an it's not in your paypal account, they'll try to send some debt collectors to your address or send some letter at least. |
| | |
| | #4 |
![]() | OK I'm certain this is a scam so here's the guy's details: Acorn username: ep42 paypal email morningstarllc@hotmail.com msn is lili.joon@yahoo.com Stay well clear. |
| | |
| | #5 |
![]() | Not sure what to make of this one but it's an email from a contact form on the website of the domain I own and thought i'd share just in case too. Hi and how are you today? I am so sorry if I am disturbing you. I own the domain name *********.ws and I was wondering if you would like to purchase the domain name from me. I can sell you the domain name for $100.00 and you can pay me to my paypal account *************@gmail.com or for a more secure deal we can use www.escrow.com but buyer pays all escrow fees. Or you can go to www.*********.ws and submit an offer but since sedo charges me 15% you would have to submit an offer for $115.00 which I will accept and I think (though I may be wrong) that sedo uses escrow so you would have to pay all buyer fees. If you click on this link https://www.godaddy.com/********** You will see all usa extensions are already taken. You can call me to (469)********* or you can call me to (972)********* if you are interested. Or just mail me back to ***********@gmail.com If you visit my website www.******************.com and you click on ebay store you will see that I have 100% positive feedbacks both as a seller and a buyer. Thank you for your time and have a GREAT day!! Sincerely, Got A reply after saying no thanks Hi and how are you today? Thank you for responding to me so quickly. No problem and I totally understand. You have a GREAT day!! Sincerely, Last edited by golddiggerguy; 20-05-2008 at 09:58 PM. |
| | |
| | #6 |
![]() | hmm. sounds a bit strange - but an easy one to dodge if they're trying to sell you a .ws |
| | |
| | #7 | ||
| Member | Quote:
PayPal has screwing policies for buyers regarding intangible/digital items. Quote:
https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/we...cy_pbp-outside So it is better to avoid using PayPal for domain transactions. Escrow.com, or other 3rd party domain escrow services like Sedo, Moniker, and AfterNIC are more convenient, IMO.
__________________ NSW.TV - Prime Australian Geo Domain Name is for sale! | ||
| | |
| | #8 |
![]() | Quick search on that email address reveals: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?p=7706648 http://www.namepros.com/460127-rkzj-...1-a-print.html
__________________ Devaid Domain Services |
| | |
| | #9 | |
![]() | Quote:
| |
| | |
| | #10 |
| Member | I lost £550 worth of domains on here by a member called meeboo. Same scamming technique. Paypal took his side and they told me even if it was a scam we can't do anything about because its an intangible item. |
| | |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| paypal chargeback | mojoco | General Board | 9 | 11-05-2008 12:37 PM |
| PayPal Domain Purchases | admin | Domain Name Scams | 14 | 24-04-2008 06:43 PM |
| paypal Requesting For Tracking Number:Email ID | seanc | General Board | 3 | 21-07-2007 05:44 PM |