Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk

Today's Drop Dates are: 07-11-2011 or 14-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34:25 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2008, 04:55:53 AM     #1 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
byallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the rough

beware of scam from eliteinvestment.net

Hi All,

I recently got the email below from someone at an eliteinvestment.net email address, expressing interest in my domain name. After doing a bit of research on them, I find out that others have gotten identical emails under different names since this August. From what several others have said, when you reply, the emailer writes back saying that he is willing to buy your domain at the price you indicate to them, BUT he wants you get an appraisal done from "a company that they trust".

In short, it's a scam trying to get money from domain owners for a supposed appraisal!

Regards,
byallnames

------------

Hello,

Your domain name has been found online.

Please let us know your price.

We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Joshua Knight
Vice President
Norway Capital Investment Group
byallnames is offline  
Old 13-11-2008, 06:29:06 AM     #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essex
Posts: 17
Cazpa is on a distinguished road

I have got a very similar email from the same people, they said they was interested in one of my domains so I replyed "how much you offering", they then got back to me with an offer of $5000 lol.

The domain has never seen a website and it for a very small niche so im interested to know how they worked that one out.
Cazpa is offline  
Old 13-11-2008, 07:30:44 AM     #3 (permalink)

 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,501
Skinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond repute

They may have worked out that you have $2000 in the bank and their cheque arrived for $7000, due to an error in the cheque department can you return the $2000 overpayment to them :P
__________________
Browse:
Skinner is offline  
Old 13-11-2008, 07:38:09 AM     #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Essex
Posts: 17
Cazpa is on a distinguished road

I shall just tell them to get their own valuation and bid via sedo, shame really because I would let em have the domain for a tenner lol.
Cazpa is offline  
Old 14-11-2008, 06:28:17 PM     #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
byallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the roughbyallnames is a jewel in the rough

He he...
I wonder if anyone falls for their trick. I think most people just end up wasting their valuable and prized time with them.
byallnames is offline  
Old 14-11-2008, 10:45:56 PM     #6 (permalink)

 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,501
Skinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond reputeSkinner has a reputation beyond repute

Well my advice is tell them send the cheque, bang it in ya bank tell them you'll send them $XXX UGD, UGD/ZBD meaning Ugandan or Zimbabwe Dollars so $999 is about 11p ? hehehe, or once funds have cleared in 21 days you'll contact to confirm transfer :P
__________________
Browse:
Skinner is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Heads up on a possible PM then MSNGR then Paypal scam woopwoop Domain Name Scams 29 31-01-2009 03:15:05 PM
Beware of evil appraisal scam! bunnny Domain Name Scams 6 26-02-2008 11:28:53 PM
Domain Scam beware! bismisoft Domain Name Scams 0 02-04-2007 07:00:22 AM
Commission warns firms about domain name scam - Stuff.co.nz RSS Domain Name News 0 08-08-2006 05:00:53 AM
eu scam domainscot Domain Name Scams 3 26-02-2006 07:47:43 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:34:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".