![]() |
|
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking |
| |||||||
| Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
![]() | scam scam scam
This screams scam to me. What do you think? Subject: solariumhire.com > >> Hello, >> >> My name is Jeffrey Burnstein and I'm very interested in your domain. >> >> Investing in domains is a profitable business. >> >> Please let me know your price for the domain in the subject line. If you >> have other good names just send me the list with prices. >> >> Looking forward to do business with you. >> >> Regards, >> Jeffrey Burnstein >> CEO >> OBS LLC To which I replied make an offer but not interested in brokered service. The response came back...... Thank you for the fast response. Can you accept 3,000 USD for solariumhire.com? Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name? Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary. Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust. To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog with suggestions from other sellers and buyers: 007 Sites - Free web hosting If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount. After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations. What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else? Hope we can come to an agreement fast. Looking forward to your reply. To which i sent him my opinion on domain valuation services!! And told him his offer was far too low What do you think??? |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) | |
![]() Join Date: Oct 2008 Location: County Cork Republic of Ireland
Posts: 5,409
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Domain Trader Rating: (100% / 112) |
Yes, typical appraisal scam. You can Google any passage of text from the email and come up with similar scam where the text was used, for example: Quote:
http://www.google.com/search?client=...utf-8&oe=utf-8 | |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
![]() |
looks like it's doing the rounds. Not had one before but you'd think they'd try and use gramatically correct english and rewording. Why do they bother?
|
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
![]() | Unfortunately, I think they bother because some people fall for it. From memory there's been at least one person come on to this forum having paid for the appraisal and then heard nothing back. Maybe Nominet could put a page on their website warning domain name owners of classic scams like this one? I guess it won't help those domain owners who know nothing about Nominet but if it stops one person being ripped off then it would be worth it.
__________________ Droppr - finely tuned .uk dropcatching for Nominet members Gazebo | Flyers, Postcards | Dent Repairs Leeds | Poster Printing |
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
![]() | Quote:
| |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
![]() |
Thanks for the heads-up on this. Very timely, as I just got one of these this morning for my domain projectfinance.info I was all excited till I read it and recognised the wording from this thread In case anyone else gets one, the from-address was "paulson@theonlinebrokerage.com" Cheers, Jon |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Domain Name Community | Replies | Last Post |
| Heads up on a possible PM then MSNGR then Paypal scam | woopwoop | Domain Name Scams | 29 | 31-01-2009 03:15:05 PM |
| Domain Name Appraisal SCAM - Beware | wagster | Domain Name Scams | 0 | 10-01-2009 07:49:52 AM |
| Scam targets domain name holders - Techworld.com | RSS | Domain Name News | 0 | 17-07-2007 12:59:02 PM |
| eu scam | domainscot | Domain Name Scams | 3 | 26-02-2006 07:47:43 PM |
| Lawyers warn of domain name scam | stevie | Domain Name Scams | 0 | 01-11-2005 11:20:35 PM |