Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk UK Cheapest

  All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04:50 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration SedoPro Code Domains For Sale NameDrive Domain Parking
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-03-2009, 01:04:15 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,217
cm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond reputecm1975 has a reputation beyond repute

Possible scam?

I received this email the other day. I'm assuming it's a scam, especially since the domain had already dropped a month previous!!


Quote:
Hi,
my name is Brandon Birdwell and I would be interested in buying your domain 118TALK.COM from you. Are you interested in selling it? If yes, how much would you want for it? What payment method would you prefer?
And just in case you are wondering how I got your email, anyone can get that info at whois.net
Regards,
Brandon Birdwell
__________________
For sale - woodenfloor.co.uk :: financialservices
cm1975 is offline  
Old 18-03-2009, 01:05:49 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
GreyWing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,859
GreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond repute

Nothing out of the ordinary there that stands out as worrying imo.
__________________
Quick Loans
GreyWing is offline  
Old 18-03-2009, 01:46:11 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
Sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Swindon
Posts: 491
Sound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond reputeSound has a reputation beyond repute

Its a scam do a google search of the name Brandon Birdwell for more info.........
Sound is offline  
Old 18-03-2009, 01:52:32 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
GreyWing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,859
GreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond repute

I don't know, a search on that finds this

"Thanks for posting this, Lisa. Just got an email from Brandon Birdwell today.

What's interesting is I just sold a domain name to someone but the interaction in that case was entirely different. It was film producer who wanted the domain name because he was filming a documentary with the same name as the domain I owned. He was gracious and appreciative from the beginning. The whole transaction went smoothly.

Because I like the topic of his documentary he and I are keeping in touch in case I can assist him with publicity (I do PR and viral marketing).

Guess I'm lucky to have a positive experience to use as a comparison. Yeah the Brandon thing has an entirely different vibe."


So he might just be sending out standard template emails to save time.

Depends how he wants to pay, which service he uses and if he asks for an appraisal. The next email maybe more suspicious, but nothing looks dangerous in that to me.
__________________
Quick Loans
GreyWing is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
scam scam scam pendragon Domain Name Scams 7 10-02-2009 11:12:46 AM
Heads up on a possible PM then MSNGR then Paypal scam woopwoop Domain Name Scams 29 31-01-2009 03:15:05 PM
Domain Name Appraisal SCAM - Beware wagster Domain Name Scams 0 10-01-2009 07:49:52 AM
Recognizing the Trademark Domain Name Scam - Domain Name Wire RSS Domain Name News 0 17-12-2008 04:59:10 PM
eu scam domainscot Domain Name Scams 3 26-02-2006 07:47:43 PM

Affiliate Window Brands


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".