![]() |
![]() |
| Domain Name Sales | Domain Software | Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates | Domain Registration | NameDrive | Domain Parking | Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter |
| | ||||||
| Home | Register | Rules | Membership Upgrade | Domains For Sale | Domain Name Escrow | Mark Forums Read | Domain Classified | Chat Room |
| Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| | #1 (permalink) |
![]() |
If you received an email from accountupdate@godaddy.com regarding a "Important ICANN Notice Regarding Your Domain Name(s)" Please check the site the link direct you to, this one I received direct me to Godadidy. I have the full copy of the email on my blog for anyone interested to see what the email looks like (the email and the website is exactly the same as Godaddy) Domain Geo: Warning Godaddy password scam email You have been warned!
__________________ |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
![]() |
I would also watch out for other potential fake ones with different registrar names, such as Moniker etc., as not all send out the ICANN compliance emails. (they're supposed to though).
__________________ Champange.co.uk | Music.co.ltd.uk | Domains.co.ltd.uk | Search.co.ltd.uk eGPS.co.uk - cheap GPS! | MobileConnection.co.uk - bargain phones & FREE LAPTOPS!! |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
![]() |
Godaddy got back to me twice confirming it's a genuine email???? did they even check the whois for godadidy.com? Yes icann should get tougher on them and they should invest more on their support!!! all 3 of my e-mail replies are automatic. I give up! how much is it to become your own register for a .com?
__________________ |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Junior Member |
phising is becoming a very bad practice. You would be aware of mails asking for your cc details coming from your so called local bank but now they gone so far as to say they are hi5 or even godaddy. I am extra-careful whenever I am asked to open any link. This is the best way to avoid scams like this. Don't rely on their support for a quick and good answer, trust your instincts instead! |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
![]() | I looked into it a few months ago, I think it's about £45 from what I read. Just needs some reading into their software gateways but is very do-able for the average chap. GW
__________________ Make cash from your website, any website, any sector... That.co.uk Find out more |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
![]() |
Yep I had a quick read and it's $96 There maybe other costs in there but that's all I could see. OpenSRS - Become a Reseller
__________________ Make cash from your website, any website, any sector... That.co.uk Find out more |
| |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |