Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk Domain Name Registration

 
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16:58 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration SedoPro Code Domains For Sale NameDrive Domain Parking
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-04-2009, 08:25:25 AM     #1 (permalink)

 
devolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 758
devolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond repute

Angry 1&1 trying to steal my domain!?

Suffice to say, I'm not sure what is going on here - first time I've had a rogue transfer request (which obviously I did not authorize)... but from Los Diablos, 1&1!

=========================
Re: Transfer of *****.net

The Schlund+Partner AG has received a request from

1&1 Internet AG on behalf of Nebihu Valmir DE-31167 Bockenem, Ackerstr. 20

on 20-Apr-2009 for us to become the new registrar of record.

You have received this message because you are listed as the Registered
Name Holder or Administrative contact for this domain name in the WHOIS
database.
__________________
Champange.co.uk | Music.co.ltd.uk | Domains.co.ltd.uk | Search.co.ltd.uk
eGPS.co.uk - cheap GPS! | MobileConnection.co.uk - bargain phones & FREE LAPTOPS!!
devolution is offline  
Old 20-04-2009, 10:12:54 AM     #2 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 1,440
tifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond reputetifosi has a reputation beyond repute

make sure it's got a registrar lock on it... can only be turned off in yout control panel.
tifosi is offline  
Old 20-04-2009, 12:43:12 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
Takwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 810
Takwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud ofTakwa has much to be proud of

Hi devolution,

You better contact them quick, i think you have a few days to cancel the transfer, I would change the password as well.

you always seem to have problem with them, didn't you try to take them to court last year?

Why are you still with them?
Takwa is online now  
Old 21-04-2009, 07:53:54 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
devolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 758
devolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond repute

This domain is actually at Moniker - the transfer request is coming from them (1&1), and they have good security at Moniker - doamins transfer-locked by default.
The court stuff is still in process, and in the rest of the email it says if you do not want to transfer the domain to them, then do nothing. Suffice to say, I have no domains with 1&1 anymore.
I liked the older generic transfer system where you could go to a page and select yay/nay.

But still, I'm wondering if this is something nefarious or just a mistake...
__________________
Champange.co.uk | Music.co.ltd.uk | Domains.co.ltd.uk | Search.co.ltd.uk
eGPS.co.uk - cheap GPS! | MobileConnection.co.uk - bargain phones & FREE LAPTOPS!!
devolution is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 04:06:54 AM     #5 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 495
crabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond reputecrabfoot has a reputation beyond repute

If you know nothing about a deal involving the domain, there is only one conclusion - somebody is trying to steal it.

While winker&winker suggest you do nothing if you don't want to deal, I would suggest you talk to Moniker and make sure that nothing will happen.

It might be useful to report the problem to your local police - I don't know what they can do, but you have a name and address to show them (Nebihu Valmir DE-31167 Bockenem, Ackerstr. 20 is pretty specific, although I'll bet he can go into the "no understand" routine at the drop of a hat). Perhaps they can liase with the cybercrime squad and talk to the Germans.

If you want to tell the German police, you can send email from the link at
BKA Info
That text says "don't use this for emergency situations, report to your local police station", and "don't send any attachments, put everything in your email".

Thieves in general rely on a single instance of a crime being below the £30-ish attention threshold of police, so be sure to mention that your domain is possibly worth £500 or so - that should get their attention.

If I were in your shoes, I would try reporting this attempted theft, although I would not hold out much hope of success. Domain theft is fraud, but don't expect "PC Plod and the Woodentops" to be able to get their heads around it right away. If going to the effort of reporting the matter is a "fool's errand", I apologise.

Last edited by crabfoot; 01-05-2009 at 04:18:05 AM.
crabfoot is offline  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:01:49 AM     #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
tobemenow is on a distinguished road

First of all I am sorry to hear you are in this predicament.
Yes, there's full of fraudsters out there and although for you it seems 1&1 is trying to steal your domain I can assure you that it's not them and it's another one behind this. Like crabfoot suggest I am going to have to agree. That is the best solution and in the future act fast and don't let this ever happen again.
tobemenow is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".