Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk domain name offers

Today's Drop Dates are: 07-11-2011 or 14-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59:08 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-10-2009, 03:11:05 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rutland and Durham, UK
Posts: 532
alex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond repute

Has anyone else received an email from hk-nsc.hk?

I recently received an email from hk-nsc.hk and they told me that they are a company 'mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection'. The jist of the email was that one of their clients, a company from the UK, wanted to register domains with the keyword skate. They said that since I had the domain skate.co.uk they wanted to hear my thoughts on their client's registrations. I checked out their website and they had stolen the Nominet header, I've just checked them now and the site has changed again.

I just wanted to make everyone aware of this in case someone has heard from them.
__________________
Tag: ALEXJORDAN Sites: alexjordan.co.uk | Griptape.co.uk
For Sale/Offers Invited: LLL.org.uk | VVV.org.uk | 090.co.uk | 029.co.uk
alex is offline  
Old 22-10-2009, 03:28:41 PM     #2 (permalink)
rob
Founding Member
 
rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,879
rob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond reputerob has a reputation beyond repute

not had one that nicked Nominet but been giving this bloke the run around recently:

Dear CEO,

We are the leading internet solutions organization in China, have something
need to confirm with you. We formally received an
application on Sep. 4, one company which called " Various Products Trading
Company " were applying to register " *************************" as
Net Brand and following Domain Names:
*************************.asia
*************************.com.cn
*************************.com.hk
*************************.com.tw
*************************.hk
*************************.in
*************************.net.cn
*************************.org.cn
*************************.tw

After our initial examination, we found that the Net Brand and Domain Names
applied for registration are similar to your company's.
These days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your
company. If your company did not authorize the aforesaid
company to register these, please contact us as soon as possible.


In addition, we hereby declare that the disputing time limit is 7 workdays,
if your company files no reply within the time limit, we
will unconditionally approve the application submitted by Various Products
Trading Company.

Best Regards,

Terry Zhao
Auditing Department
Shanghai FeWo Corporate Domains Limited
Tel: +86-21-37529318
Fax: +86-21-37529316
Web: Shanghai FeWo Corporate Domains Limited | Internet Solutions
2009-09-07

Website: Shanghai FeWo Corporate Domains Limited | Internet Solutions
IP: 222.72.137.107
__________________
Eat more chips! Dont let salad win! I am rob who runs hey. Twitter:@robcouk.
how to sell a website | sell your website to me whats the number for milk tokens? TDA BB Wrexham
rob is offline  
Old 22-10-2009, 04:16:46 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rutland and Durham, UK
Posts: 532
alex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond reputealex has a reputation beyond repute

My email was of a similar format, but the IP address and numbers are all different. I imagine there are quite a few like this going around. It's easy for us to detect, but it would also be easy for someone to be caught off guard, especially if they are new registrants.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob View Post
been giving this bloke the run around recently
What did you say to them?
__________________
Tag: ALEXJORDAN Sites: alexjordan.co.uk | Griptape.co.uk
For Sale/Offers Invited: LLL.org.uk | VVV.org.uk | 090.co.uk | 029.co.uk
alex is offline  
Old 22-10-2009, 04:20:17 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
dotNetFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,358
dotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond repute
Classified Rating: 100% (1)

Domain Trader Rating:
(100% / 121)
These e-mails have been doing the rounds for ages, just delete it, it's complete crap.
dotNetFreak is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Hmmmm - today's Sedo email I received domainseller200 Sedo 10 06-10-2009 01:10:21 PM
Monetising domain names with paid email addresses bb99 Affiliate Marketing 15 28-05-2009 08:52:19 AM
Godaddy password email scam "Godadidy" Takwa Domain Name Scams 8 20-04-2009 01:33:10 PM
Scammy looking email just received - has anyone seen similar? pmdpmd Domain Name Scams 9 23-03-2009 08:52:35 PM




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:59:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".