Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk domain name offers

Today's Drop Dates are: 07-11-2011 or 14-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21:36 PM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Disputes & Scams > Domain Name Scams
Connect with Facebook

Domain Name Scams Report and discuss domain name scams, stolen domains and suspect ebay listings.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 06:25:17 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 269
miked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond repute

Registrar login info scam.

Hi,

I thought you might all want to know about this: I've received an eMail asking me to click on a link to my registrar and alter whois data for a domain I own. My registrar is 123-reg , but of course it could apply to any registrar. I should say that I have no doubt that 123-reg did not send this message. The text is as follows, my details edited out:

Dear Valued Customer,

ICANN, the organization responsible for the stability of the Internet,
requires that each domain name registrant be given the opportunity to
correct any inaccurate contact data (WHOIS data) associated with a domain
name registration. Our records for your domain are as follows:
<<DOMAIN HERE>>

<<WHOIS DETAILS HERE>>

Registration Service Provider:
PIPEX Communications Uk Ltd, services@123-reg.co.uk
+44.115-917-0000
http://www.123-reg.co.uk/
This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords,
DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions.

Record last updated on 01-Sep-2005.
Record expires on 31-Aug-2008.
Record created on 31-Aug-2005.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.123-REG.CO.UK
NS2.123-REG.CO.UK

Domain status: REGISTRAR-LOCK

To review and update your WHOIS contact information, please log into
our management interface at: https://www.123-reg.co.uk/secure/

If any of the information above is inaccurate, you should correct it.
If all of the information above is accurate, you do not need to take any action.
Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement,
the provision of false WHOIS information can be grounds for cancellation
of your domain name registration.

If you have any questions or comments regarding ICANN's policy, please contact
them directly at icann@icann.org.

Thank you for your attention.

Best regards,
PIPEX Communications Uk Ltd
NOTE: Please do NOT reply to this message. This is an outgoing message only.


Of course I'll be forwarding it to 123-Reg.

Anyone seen anything like this before?

Mike.
miked is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 06:41:29 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
wwwdomain.name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,695
wwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond reputewwwdomain.name has a reputation beyond repute

......................

Last edited by wwwdomain.name; 15-08-2006 at 09:36:20 PM.
wwwdomain.name is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:47:52 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 233
netserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud ofnetserve has much to be proud of

EH?

All registrars send out an email to the admin contact once each year asking them to confirm the details are correct.

What you've got there looks fine, there's no evidence that the links are to a third party site that isn't 123-reg
netserve is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:49:46 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,075
aqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond reputeaqls has a reputation beyond repute

Don't click on the link but instead cut and paste it to your browser, that way you avoid hidden urls that mask you away to some dark place.

Just to be sure.

-aqls-
aqls is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 10:19:21 PM     #5 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 258
mibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond reputemibut has a reputation beyond repute

They are not asking you to alter your whois info.
They are asking you to check that it is correct and if not, to correct it.
Perfectly normal
mibut is online now  
Old 04-05-2006, 11:02:29 PM     #6 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 269
miked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond reputemiked has a reputation beyond repute

Hi Guys,

Thanks for your replies. I agree that this might be legit: I wrote this in a rush on my way out, and probably should have called it a possible scam.

That said, the thing that worried me on this is the impersonal nature of it. One of the things I've always looked out for with scam eMails is the use of phrases like 'Dear Valued Customer' instead of specifically naming the addressee. Add to this the fact that this seemed to be from a different eMail address than 123-reg have used before (explainable, I know), and that they were asking me to click on a link to log in, and I got worried.

I'll keep you posted on what 123-Reg say if they get back to me. However many weeks that takes...

Mike.
miked is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 02:51:43 PM     #7 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,001
retired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member11 has a reputation beyond repute

A Russian domain napper perhaps? Russia is an IP minefield to be avoided.
retired_member11 is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Web Host and Domain Registrar, Dotster, Verisign, Report 94% ... - Cheap Web Hosting Directory RSS Domain Name News 0 27-04-2006 03:59:05 PM
eu scam domainscot Domain Name Scams 3 26-02-2006 07:47:43 PM
Lawyers warn of domain name scam stevie Domain Name Scams 0 01-11-2005 11:20:35 PM

Domain Sponsor 2


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".