Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk Price Freeze on Business Hosting frm £4.95/month

Today's Drop Dates are: 19-02-2012 or 26-02-2012   All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09:53 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > Domain Name Research > Domain Traffic / Keyword Research
Connect with Facebook

Domain Traffic / Keyword Research Discuss Domain Name traffic and keyword popularity. Overture no longer functions.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-07-2010, 07:15:52 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
davedevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brough, East Yorks
Posts: 993
davedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond repute

Strange direct traffic

I got a strange email the other day, it was a lady asking me why she was getting shown a page offering the domain uniqlo.co.uk for sale when she was trying to get on their website. Sure enough she provided a screenshot of my domain holding page, showing uniqlo.co.uk in the page and in the browsers address bar. I assumed that her ISP had a DNS issue or something.

Anyway, taking a look at my stats today and there's all sorts of strange type in traffic going to my holding pages. Is it something to do with the way I have my DNS server setup? My DNS server is set up to route any domain I don't specifically setup to that holding page. I can only assume, that somewhere in the DNS chain, my server is being asked to resolve hotmail.co.uk etc?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot1.jpg (16.6 KB, 111 views)
__________________
Me: Blog | Company | Twitter

Coming Soon: DaveDomains | DaveCatcher | FreeToReg.co.uk
davedevelopment is offline  
Old 22-07-2010, 07:47:22 PM     #2 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 81
awgthomas is on a distinguished road

Misread last post

Last edited by awgthomas; 22-07-2010 at 07:50:54 PM. Reason: Misread
awgthomas is offline  
Old 22-07-2010, 09:29:07 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
jimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 673
jimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond reputejimm has a reputation beyond repute

Certainly an interesting one.
It looks like your dns is not open and I cant think of any scenarios where it would be asked for give a record for hotmail etc.
__________________
Fov.cc | EvoOwners.co.uk | Forget Debt | xFTP | Jaimee | Linux Book | ESE Pods | Music Quotes
Affordable Server Admin - PM me!
jimm is offline  
Old 22-07-2010, 09:38:21 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
davedevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brough, East Yorks
Posts: 993
davedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond repute

Hmmm, anyone heard of an ISP called Ogilvy & Mather? I assume they trade under a different name.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screenshot1.jpg (21.5 KB, 83 views)
__________________
Me: Blog | Company | Twitter

Coming Soon: DaveDomains | DaveCatcher | FreeToReg.co.uk
davedevelopment is offline  
Old 22-07-2010, 09:42:17 PM     #5 (permalink)

 
dotNetFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,411
dotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond repute
Classified Rating: 100% (1)

Domain Trader Rating:
(100% / 125)
http://www.db.ripe.net/whois?form_ty...rchtext=Ogilvy

http://www.ogilvy.co.uk/ogilvy-advertising/

I reckon that's probably them...
dotNetFreak is offline  
Old 22-07-2010, 09:55:44 PM     #6 (permalink)

 
dotNetFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,411
dotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond reputedotNetFreak has a reputation beyond repute
Classified Rating: 100% (1)

Domain Trader Rating:
(100% / 125)
Actually it's more likely it's this netblock which is in the same group of companies as the organisation matches...

http://whois.arin.net/rest/net/NET-199-229-190-0-1

More than likely they've got either your IP address listed as a forwarder on an internal DNS server or a machine is misconfigured with your IP listed as a DNS server which is causing requests for anything to be redirected to your site.

I just checked your DNS server and it points me to your site for www.hotmail.co.uk
dotNetFreak is offline  
Old 23-07-2010, 11:39:58 AM     #7 (permalink)

 
davedevelopment's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brough, East Yorks
Posts: 993
davedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond reputedavedevelopment has a reputation beyond repute

Emailed the original lady who reported it to me, she works there

She's gone to speak to their IT department.
__________________
Me: Blog | Company | Twitter

Coming Soon: DaveDomains | DaveCatcher | FreeToReg.co.uk
davedevelopment is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Herding Web Traffic Through Direct Domain Navigation - E-Commerce Times RSS Domain Name News 0 26-02-2010 01:59:14 PM
Country code domain names increase in popularity - Direct Traffic Media RSS Domain Name News 0 24-11-2008 09:59:15 PM
strange traffic on strange domain.. julian Domain Research 2 12-11-2008 11:08:39 PM
Appraise Movie-Watch.com with Traffic and Revenue Info WaftyCrank Domain Appraisals 1 03-01-2008 02:12:49 PM
Traffic on NameDrive NameDriver NameDrive 0 12-04-2006 07:49:04 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".