Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk domain name offers

Today's Drop Dates are: 04-11-2011 or 11-11-2011   All times are GMT. The time now is 06:21:53 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > General and Domain News > General Board
Connect with Facebook

General Board General discussions. Please check main forum categories before posting here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-07-2008, 11:19:28 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 3,870
Edwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond repute

Scammer pretending to be me

Warning! There is a scammer going around applying to domain parking programs using my identity. Seems like it's been going on for a few months now, although I only found out about it today.

He is supplying a list of many of my .co.uk generics to support his application.

He gives his email as edwinhayvard@yahoo.co.jp and states he is from Japan and that his native language isn't English.

That's certainly true as he is actually from China according to the phone number he's been supplying in his fraudulent applications.

He also gives his ******* username as "simajianlin" and his company name as "Roar Productions Ltd" on applications.

If you run an affiliate or domain parking program, please could you check to see whether you have this scammer signed up.

No idea why he picked somebody who's been visible and active in the domain industry for 13 years (pretty easy to refute the "native language" part, right?) to try and "borrow" as an identity but there we go. Unfortunately since he's based out of China the legal route isn't an option, so the best I can do is spread this warning widely.

I'd be happy to answer any concerns privately about this. But hopefully the above is enough for you to work from...

Thanks for your help.
__________________
Memorable Domains Ltd - Over 7,000 descriptive, generic .co.uk domains for sale
Please note: All sale prices over a week old are automatically invalid. No exceptions. Thanks!

Last edited by Edwin; 25-07-2008 at 11:35:25 PM.
Edwin is offline  
Old 26-07-2008, 12:16:56 AM     #2 (permalink)

 
GreyWing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 3,176
GreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond reputeGreyWing has a reputation beyond repute

That's unlucky Ed, any idea how he is gaining from it? or is he just trying to make things akward for you?

Cheers GW
__________________
Make cash from your website, any website, any sector... That.co.uk Find out more
GreyWing is offline  
Old 26-07-2008, 12:21:14 AM     #3 (permalink)

 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 3,870
Edwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond repute

My guess - and it's no more than that - is that he's using my list of generics to get into minor parking programs, then putting his own junk domains into them. I can't see any other reason, but perhaps I'm not thinking laterally enough...
__________________
Memorable Domains Ltd - Over 7,000 descriptive, generic .co.uk domains for sale
Please note: All sale prices over a week old are automatically invalid. No exceptions. Thanks!
Edwin is offline  
Old 26-07-2008, 12:26:09 AM     #4 (permalink)

 
devolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 758
devolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond reputedevolution has a reputation beyond repute

Well he could list some of them on some venues and have fake sales. (I've seen a big lot of fake .co.uk on Afternic the other day - AG.co.uk for example).
__________________
Champange.co.uk | Music.co.ltd.uk | Domains.co.ltd.uk | Search.co.ltd.uk
eGPS.co.uk - cheap GPS! | MobileConnection.co.uk - bargain phones & FREE LAPTOPS!!
devolution is offline  
Old 26-07-2008, 08:02:39 PM     #5 (permalink)
Administrator
 
admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,510
admin has disabled reputation

That's unsettling, I've blocked that email address from Acorn so he can't use it here.

I'll let you know if i come across him.
admin is offline  
Old 26-07-2008, 08:13:28 PM     #6 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,450
pugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond reputepugyrob has a reputation beyond repute

Fake sales would be the biggest worry. It seems like he is looking to trade on your reputation i would think its a lot of hassle to go through to get a better parking deal.

Hope you sort it out

Rob
pugyrob is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Web Scammer Targets - Wall Street Journal RSS Domain Name News 0 09-11-2007 04:59:01 AM
Domain Scammer bankrupt A-Wing Domain Name Scams 1 07-07-2006 04:59:13 AM
Scammer??? stender Domain Name Scams 6 16-12-2005 05:18:11 PM
Domain Registry Services scammer sent to prison revsorg Domain Name News 4 29-11-2005 04:37:24 PM

Reseller Hosting


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:21:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".