Buy Sell Discuss UK Domain Names at AcornDomains.co.uk Price Freeze on Business Hosting frm £4.95/month

Today's Drop Dates are: 19-02-2012 or 26-02-2012   All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24:28 AM.
Domain Name Sales Domain Software Calculate UK Domain Drop Dates Domain Registration NameDrive Domain Parking Subscribe to our Domains For Sale newsletter
Go Back   Domain Forum Acorn Domains Buy Sell Auction UK Domains > General and Domain News > General Board
Connect with Facebook

General Board General discussions. Please check main forum categories before posting here.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-10-2010, 12:34:27 PM     #1 (permalink)

 
khalid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 708
khalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond repute

Exclamation Anyone Else Getting Spam Like This from @individual.co.uk

Getting HMRC spam e-mails from @individual.co.uk address.

See example below, anyone else getting this?

khalid is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 12:42:25 PM     #2 (permalink)

 
deliajen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: loughborough,leicestershire
Posts: 1,849
deliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond reputedeliajen has a reputation beyond repute

Khalid have you been hiding money in offshore accounts again....

smells like spam,if they need to contact you they will send it via royal mail or by person if more important....don't lose sleep

i get these about three times a week...honestly
__________________
PizzaVouchers | Pendant
deliajen is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 12:44:29 PM     #3 (permalink)

 
khalid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 708
khalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond reputekhalid has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by deliajen View Post
Khalid have you been hiding money in offshore accounts again....

smells like spam,if they need to contact you they will send it via royal mail or by person if more important....don't lose sleep

i get these about three times a week...honestly
haha no offshore accounts promise, if i did i wouldn't be highlighting these emails!

more pissed it came from a generic domain and uk company
khalid is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 01:02:01 PM     #4 (permalink)

 
gregfindley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 486
gregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond repute

Hi Khalid,

I got a few of these this morning, was also surprised to see the domain they were being sent from! Have previously received them but from random e-mail addresses.
__________________
CVtemplate.org.uk — on DL auction with no reserve — 165k local exacts
gregfindley is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 01:07:38 PM     #5 (permalink)

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,323
retired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond reputeretired_member13 has a reputation beyond repute

My guess is that the "reply to" address is faked, and it's easy enough to do.

I get a lot of spammy out-of-office auto replies when people send spam using email addresses on my domains as the sender (although I only see it if the domains in question are set up for email, so it's probably a lot more common that anyone realises).

Last edited by retired_member13; 14-10-2010 at 01:15:47 PM.
retired_member13 is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 01:13:12 PM     #6 (permalink)

 
gregfindley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 486
gregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond reputegregfindley has a reputation beyond repute

Is there a way to check that with the e-mail header/properties...

Quote:
Received: from User [70.182.9.94] by mail.k-koshin.co.jp with ESMTP
(SMTPD-8.22) id AA0C7620; Thu, 14 Oct 2010 17:06:36 +0900
From: "HM Revenue & Customs"<refund@individual.co.uk>
__________________
CVtemplate.org.uk — on DL auction with no reserve — 165k local exacts
gregfindley is offline  
Old 14-10-2010, 05:26:57 PM     #7 (permalink)

 
Edwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 4,165
Edwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond reputeEdwin has a reputation beyond repute

This should be a huge clue... mail.k-koshin.co.jp

The real HM Revenue are hardly likely to be mailing out of a Japanese company!
__________________
Memorable Domains Ltd - Over 7,000 descriptive, generic .co.uk domains for sale
Please note: All sale prices over a week old are automatically invalid. No exceptions. Thanks!
Edwin is offline  
Closed Thread



Bookmarks

Tags
hmrc, individual.co.uk, spam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Domain Name Community Replies Last Post
Spam solution - get an address starting with Z - NEWS.com.au RSS Domain Name News 0 02-09-2008 07:59:25 AM
Cpanel Advice: Please Read! SPAM IN YOUR EMAILS! Billy Hosting 3 27-07-2008 12:32:27 PM
Soloway's Arrest Spotlights Malicious Spam - NewsFactor Network RSS Domain Name News 0 04-06-2007 03:59:05 PM

Web Hosting from UK2 from just 99p


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content on Acorn Domains is member generated and is not moderated before posting. All content is viewed and used by you at your own risk and AD does not warrant the accuracy or reliability of any of the information. The views expressed are those of the individual contributors and not necessarily those of AD. Please contact us to report any issues or send a PM to "Admin".