Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

£1.5k budget per month

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, I was giving my opinion and all I can say is that I have been doing SEO professionally for a living for 15 years and have found that the suggestions I have given work at every level of competitiveness. I have done it on my own sites and I have done it for clients, big well known brands through to SMEs.

Yes I agree that in ultra competitive niches link building is important but if you are going to build links en masse, you better have something decent to point them at (content)!

I guess we all have different points of view, content marketing seems to be a contentious subject here for some reason despite that it is proven to work, it is advocated by pretty much all well known and respected SEO's and it is low risk.

Last edited:
Part of the problem is that there's "content" and "content" - many/most sites seem to go for the shovelware approach where they either grab the nearest warm body passing through the office to scribble down a few lines, or else they outsource it for £10 an article or whatever it costs to get an Englishish speaker to "customise" somebody else's content/rewrite Wikipedia these days. Either that, or they let the marketing department lard the copy with so many hollow buzzwords that it's unreadable.

On the other hand, well-written on-topic interesting pieces by subject experts (the "interesting" part is paramount) can still attract attention via social media, PR etc. especially if they're taking a new slant on the topic or revealing information that's not common knowledge.

But of course that costs anywhere from 10x to 100x or more what the "rotate this content through a thesaurus" approach does - so many companies won't even consider it...

Last edited:
I totally agree Edwin.