Domain Manage

123 Bang!

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by charlie, Sep 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25
    Seems like they've lost it completely to do - database failure

    errors throughout the site - mx, dns etc
    check any sites you have on web forwarding

    lets hope i have some domains in my account when they get it back!

    This will keep help desk busy for months!! :twisted:
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    yes I noticed web forwarding was down.
     
  4. olebean

    olebean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    29
    I to have noticed
     
  5. wwwdomain.name

    wwwdomain.name Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,632
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just had this reply: Less than 1 hour to reply... A new 123 record!!!!

    Hi

    We are currently experiencing a problem with our DNS, this issue is
    being resolved by the data centre and we hope to have a resolution
    within the hour.
     
  6. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25
    :confused: dns doesn't create the database and internal server errors i'm seeing

    you probably got an automated response - hence an hour!! :D
     
  7. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    18
    If they were connecting to a DB via a hostname, and that webserver was using the DNS Servers to resolve the hostname, then it would error out...
     
  8. wwwdomain.name

    wwwdomain.name Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,632
    Likes Received:
    17
    Looks like it's fine now...
     
  9. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25
    you learn something everyday eh! - is this a sensible way to put a system together?
     
  10. static

    static Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2006
    Posts:
    220
    Likes Received:
    5
    Who owns 123 reg?
     
  11. rob

    rob Founding Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2005
    Posts:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    68
    this bloke:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. cmrule Spain

    cmrule Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Aghh scary!!! :???:

    yup 123 have really lost it. I tried to buy a domain through them yesterday but they were too slow so went elsewhere. Goodbye 123! RIP.
     
  13. Jeewhizz

    Jeewhizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    18
    This is not sensible at all. I tend to avoid hostnames where possible, and use the server's/load balancer's IP address...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page