Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.

Acorns...I need your help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Acorns, I'm hoping to ask for a little help here (and apologies if this is in the wrong section)...

I'm thinking about starting a forum as part of a new project, and this is something I have never done before. Does anyone here have experience of hosting/maintaining a forum, and if so, would you be willing to field any of my amateurish questions via a DM? maybe even here a bit about the project...

I'll understand if this falls on deaf ears, but if you don't ask then you don't get :)

Hey,

Are you looking to code this yourself as a project or looking more for a prebuilt package?

The hosting at the start of the forum won't be an issue, just go with someone based in England (with a non 0845 telephone number should you need to get hold of them).

A basic hosting package with only a few gigs of bandwith would be plenty for now so I doubt it would cost much for hosting. Just ensure your host offers an easy to use upgrade service for your hosting package.

Spam is the biggest pain of running a forum I've found, if you go with a prebuilt software package then there will be plugins and tweaks which can help stop a lot of it.

What sort of forum was you thinking of doing?

Hey, thanks for your reply. I'm not a big coder, so it's going to be largely a prebuilt package, maybe with my own embellishments where necessary. It's most likely to be through vBulletin as well as I understand this is the most reliable, secure and SEO-friendly forum software on the market.

As you say, I think spam/moderation will be the most difficult side, and also having the patience to stick with it. The forum side of things is really new to me, so this whole thing will be a learning curve - and really, thanks for hosting advice.