Domain Manage

Adding FB links = negative seo impact?

Discussion in 'SEO Search Engine Optimisation' started by julian, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. julian United Kingdom

    julian Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 2007
    Posts:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    42
    Has anyone ever noticed any impact on a sites serp position since adding all the usual FB, Twitter crap usually found on footer etc.

    ta.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member33

    retired_member33 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    13
    Nope, never, just positive.
     
  4. Blossom

    Blossom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    55
    The main thing to consider would be impact on page load time, but it's only a small factor.
     
  5. vizzo United Kingdom

    vizzo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2010
    Posts:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    No - can't see reallly why it would.
     
  6. jj1

    jj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2009
    Posts:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    Social signals (in paticular the number of facebook likes shares and comments your Facebook Page gets) are meant to be a factor with Google nowadays so I'm just about to put some sort of buttons on our own site.
     
  7. Sussexite

    Sussexite Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2010
    Posts:
    278
    Likes Received:
    8
    No problems noticed.

    Some twitter widgets don't look very good on iPhone and other small screen devices. They sometimes don't resize well and can obscure other parts of your page so it's worth checking them on multiple device platforms if you can.
     
  8. Aegean

    Aegean Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    752
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yes exactly, I removed the facebook API from 6 sites, still have inbound links from FB, but a loading problem with their script meant it was preventing pages from loading within the 6 sec loadtime paramater.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page