Domain Manage

Adwords - Whos bidding for what?

Discussion in 'Social Media Marketing' started by profrec, Apr 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. profrec

    profrec Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    First time using Adwords, is there anyway of telling what the highest bid is on a particular key word/phrase so that you can increase your bid or change key words??

    Thanks
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. DomainAngel United Kingdom

    DomainAngel Retired Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2006
    Posts:
    855
    Likes Received:
    16
    Be careful about upping your bid too soon.

    How long have you had your campaign running?

    And the tools page gives you the costs etc

    Make sure you have seperate bids for where your ads are to be delivered.

    You should read the google pro tutorials, they give you an excellent idea of how to run your campaigns.

    Or if you get any direct questions, ask them on here :)
     
  4. clem

    clem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    As DomainAngel says, don't up your bids too soon. Just because you have the highest bid, it doesn't mean you will be highest up on the listings. This is thanks to the wonderful google invention known as "Quality Score", which is pretty much a black box....basically, the QS depends on the relevance of your landing page to your keywords, the CTR on the keywords etc etc. Although obviously with a new account, you may need to bid more to get some keyword history...

    If you don't know much about it, I suggest you go read the stuff the big G have to say about their QS and Adwords :)
     
  5. retired_member12

    retired_member12 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    23
    ^ All good advice.
    Also, having had numerous words & phrases seemingly become inactive for no real reason, you may be tempted to up your minimum bid to re-activate them. I'd leave things for a while if this happens, it amazing how they suddenly re-activate themselves with your existing bids, and then stay active for long peroids after that.
    Maybe even delete some inactive words if there are quite a few of them. You'd be surprised how quickly the remaining inactive words then kick back to life!

    You can get quite paranoid about why this is happening!!
     
  6. profrec

    profrec Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys only just came back to this thread.

    I had been running a campaign and had bumped my bid upto 50p for some words and was getting no where fast, not even getting a huge number of clicks.

    Last night I reset the campaign to have different adds for each town/region, plus lowered my number of keywords for each add and my bid to 18p and have had more clicks today than I did in the whole of the last few weeks. (and paying a hell of a lot less).

    Guess I owe you all a beer:lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page