Domain Manage

Anti Virus and Firewall

Discussion in 'Business Discussions' started by cc976a, May 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cc976a

    cc976a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm about to reach my expiry date with Norton

    My laptop is a few years old, and although does everything I need Norton simply kills it. Norton's a hungry little sod that my 250MB Ram struggles to play nice with.

    Can anyone recommend a good anti-virus and firewall that runs on low processing power?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member33

    retired_member33 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    13
  4. newguy United Kingdom

    newguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2009
    Posts:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have Norton 360, but to be honest you'd probably get on fine with a Microsoft Security Essentials and Zone Alarm combo. Worth having Malware Bytes too.
     
  5. murph

    murph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    8
    Avast anti virus. Comodo personal firewall. All free and top notch :)
     
  6. seemly

    seemly Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    959
    Likes Received:
    29
    +1
     
  7. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    47
    I'd stick with norton and up grade your RAM its dirt cheap at the moment I got 16gb for my desktop for about £50 quid and a mate of mine got 2gb for his laptop for £11 the other day
     
  8. cc976a

    cc976a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's a nice option but not sure if processor or RAM is problem, and probably cost me about 1/3rd of cost of getting a new laptop after getting someone to install it for me :)

    Thanks all
     
  9. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    47
    If you only have 256mb of ram its I would defo upgarde anyway. only hitch is with that little it may also be using the older type memory the crucial memory site will tell you all you need to know and a ballpark figure for the cost
    http://www.crucial.com/uk/systemscanner/?click=true
    Its not always cheapest to by direct from them though.
    As for fitting its simple in most laptops you wouldnt need to pay someone.

     
  10. cc976a

    cc976a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks both - worked a treat, laptop feels as if it has a new lease of life!
     
  11. Nova United Kingdom

    Nova Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2012
    Posts:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    "250MB Ram"??? I would really consider upgrading your laptop.

    In fact I just bought a new laptop with 6gb ram (and intel i5 processor) and its quite a bit better then my last one which had 2.5 gb. The new one should last me a few years now. I just wish the internet was a bit quicker where I live.

    You can pick up a decent laptop relevantly cheap. This one looks good for the price:
    http://www.ebuyer.com/288874-toshiba-satellite-pro-c660-2f8-laptop-psc1me-01g00ken
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page