Domain Manage

Anyone here using IE7??

Discussion in 'Website Design' started by dashu1, Mar 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is there anyone here using ie7 who would mind having a look at :

    www.intermindsevents.com and seeing if the drop down menu under "workshops" in the menu bar works okay?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Ashton United Kingdom

    Ashton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    29
  4. dashu1 United Kingdom

    dashu1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks I keep looking at those but I'm trying to avoid adding any more programs to the computer, it's slow enough as it is.

    Maybe just one more though...
     
  5. JDubya

    JDubya Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    7
    HTML:
    <meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=7" />
    Adding this to the start of the page head section should result in IE8 rendering the page in IE7 mode.
     
  6. Ashton United Kingdom

    Ashton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    29
    I dont think that helps at all.
     
  7. JDubya

    JDubya Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. Ashton United Kingdom

    Ashton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    29
    What I meant is that is no help in this situation, let me explain:

    He wants to know if the site looks right in IE7
    You are suggesting a way to make the site look like it would in IE7 in IE8.
    Which just means even more browsers would have the problems ie7 has (if it has them)
     
  9. JDubya

    JDubya Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    94
    Likes Received:
    7
    He didn't mention which browser he is using...

    If you do have IE8 it is a very useful property to toggle on and off, as and when required for cross compatibility testing - not just the html renderer but the javascript engine (which I don't think you get in most emulators). It doesn't affect other browsers, it just tells IE8 to treat the document as if it were IE7 (or older versions if desired).
     
  10. Ashton United Kingdom

    Ashton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thats a good point, I just overlooked he might have IE8/9 as I am on OSX :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page