Domain Manage

Banners lead to 404 ?

Discussion in 'Affiliate Marketing' started by doodlebug, Nov 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    HELP !!!

    I feel like crying [​IMG]

    Tried putting 2 aff banners on my site

    1/ They only show as the text in which i wrote as their title ?
    2/ when i go on my site and click the links both show a 404 ?

    If you experienced people on here think i am trying to do something in which i can't, then please tell me and i will give up till i start a web design course next year

    Many Many Thanks Doodlebug [​IMG]

    It's the Marshall Mathers site under products, if you want to take a look ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    MP3 Banner

    HTML:
    <a href='<a href="http://www.paidonresults.net/c/16407/51/39/0/shop/"><img src="http://images.uk.paidonresults.net/16407/39/0/51" width="240" height="60" border="0" alt="Advanced Mp3 Players"></a>'>
    Change to:

    HTML:
    <a href="http://www.paidonresults.net/c/16407/51/39/0/shop/"><img src="http://images.uk.paidonresults.net/16407/39/0/51" width="240" height="60" border="0" alt="Advanced Mp3 Players"><font size=6>LATEST MP3 PLAYERS</font></a>
    
    Looking at the other one now
     
  4. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    The audio one doesn't have an image, but the code is still wrong.

    Change:

    HTML:
    <a href='<a href="http://www.paidonresults.net/c/16407/1/345/0">Audio-Technica Limited</a>'><font size=6>QUALITY HEADPHONES</font></a>
    to

    HTML:
    <a href="http://www.paidonresults.net/c/16407/1/345/0">Audio-Technica Limited</a><font size=6>QUALITY HEADPHONES</font>
     
  5. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanks alot Admin ! much appreciated
    I will try this again ?
     
  6. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    Once again Admin Thanks.

    I copied the code you displayed but still 404 ?

    I admit defeat for now and will do some more research, maybe look at webref.eu

    Think i am trying to do stuff i don't yet understand :cry:

    Trial and error and a bit of reading.
     
  7. retired_member16

    retired_member16 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    45
    You have not copied the line correctly

    You have <a href=' at the start of the line still.
     
  8. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    I shall take that bit out and try again Thanks !!! Firestars

    Told you i din't know what i was doing ?
     
  9. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    If you paste my code into a text file and run it as an HTML file you will see the code works fine.

    How are you editing the text?

    If you want to send me the file I will change it and send it back.
     
  10. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanks !!!

    Thanks again Admin, I really think i need to wait untill i have been on a course and have some understanding ?

    I have been simply trying to place my banners by creating a hyperlink
    I also copied the image of the banner and added it to my image manager.

    I watched an on line tutorial but his was for adding banners to a blog ?

    I feel i am wasting your time as i don't seem to know what i am doing ?

    In the new year Admin i will send you a donation, this site as taught me a lot but have made no donation yet.

    I will in the new year, just get Xmas out of the way lol / And it won't be 10p lol
    :t
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  11. retired_member16

    retired_member16 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    45
    When I first started out, I used the free templates here - Solucija &minus; Free CSS Templates

    Download one and look at how its written, change a small part of it, save it and refresh your webbrowser and you will get a feel for what-does-what.
     
  12. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    I will have a look at that Firestars

    I am interested in templates i can use with different host providers, i am using an instant site creator for now which means i have to use the templates provided by the host provider :|

    ps. Maybe Admin will get you a pint out of my newyear donation ? lol
     
  13. retired_member16

    retired_member16 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    45
    Save your self time and money by not going for a site creator.

    If you download a template, you can change it and build it locally on your PC to get an idea of how they work before deciding how to host it when its completed.

    If you need any help with any part of it, let me know.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2008
  14. doodlebug United Kingdom

    doodlebug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2007
    Posts:
    5,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanks again !!!

    Going to have a play around with templates, when i am happy i will find the right hosting

    I reg names with Heart usually so will look at their packages

    Them instants cost a tenner a shot so works out expensive

    25 X Ten pounds, Erm ???

    ps* Go on make it 2 pints ( and a packet of crisp ) lol
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page