Domain Manage

Black Landings

Discussion in 'NameDrive' started by nickbweb, Apr 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nickbweb

    nickbweb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just noticed the black landing pages for an adult domain of mine.

    They LOOK GREAT!!!

    Hoping this is a perminant thing ed? just out of interest when were they implimented?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. NameDriver

    NameDriver NameDrive Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    717
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi Nick,

    Yes they are sticking around. They went up at the end of last week. It is also the tip of the iceberg. As I say, we've been quietly implemtning all sorts of new things and new landers are the first stage of this new stuff. They should be live within, oooh, 48 hours if we're lucky and come along with a brand new toy that was so much fun I was up till 3.45 last night playing with it. I love having a great tech team :)
    We are in full implementation mode at the moment, there are other things that we have to concentrate on that are not so much fun, but we still very much open to any suggestions of things you would like to see. We have our own ideas, but many of the things that have appeared over the last months have come from you guys, so feel free to post, PM or email any ideas / features you'd like to see. As mentioned, there hasn't been much discussion of ND on here recently and that is both pleasing and concerning. Forum posts, whether good or bad are at least audible. Silence is far too expressive for my liking.

    Any suggestions, gripes, desired features would be glaldly welcomed. I'm sure tech will love me for it.

    Ed
     
  4. aqls

    aqls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    26
    Fantastic news.

    I have just hijacked an AcornDomains members domains.

    He doesn't know about it and I'm sure will never find out. ;)

    It works like this:
    He registers a domain.
    He forgets/delays putting it into namedrive but points the nameservers there.
    I input the domain into namedrive.
    He gets the DRS I get the revenue!

    Whoopee!

    Same happens if previous owner doesn't delete them from Namedrive - it can go unnoticed for years, decades . . .

    Can we maybe have access to a "clean" account that perhaps ignores the first account but that one only - so I transfer all domains into the new account and only those domains that are in someone elses account flag up as already in the system?

    And while you're at it, can I check for any that don't have the ns1 fastpark net settings on their nameservers at the same time ?

    (you are going to ask me to do it all by hand aren't you - delete, reinput, check nameserver, look at page . . . :twisted: )

    -aqls-
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2006
  5. bb99 United Kingdom

    bb99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have no problem with this as long as they're Rob's domains :)
     
  6. NameDriver

    NameDriver NameDrive Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    717
    Likes Received:
    8
    Wow.

    How did I know it would be a certain aqls that would provide the challenge for the weekend?
    So you'd like a custom message for aqls saying either.
    "This domain is in your account, you entered it a couple of weeks ago"
    or
    "This domain is in some other poor soul's account. Hijack? Yes/No"
    ...

    Seriously, though, we do have a substantial number of domains in our system and we have seen many change hands. The seller or "dropper" often forgets to delete the name, but we are very quick in getting this resolved.

    Um, for your particular situation, aqls, I believe that tech will be able to give me a readout of which account any specific domains are in. So you give me your list of 'all domains' and I'll find out which ones are where. This seems to make more sense (although admittedly is less fun) than mass-deleting and re-listing.
    I'll ask them about the nameserver thing as well, but I'm not sure how happy they'll be :)
    Have a good Saturday.

    Ed
     
  7. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd still like to see an option not to have the first letter of the domain name capitalised as the majority of my domains are more than one word, e.g. bikeexpress.co.uk. I'd really like to have the option to capitalise as I like e.g. BikeExpress.co.uk but you've already pointed out that is not trivial.

    Sorry to whinge again Ed, but you asked ;)

    eetc
     
  8. retired member 1

    retired member 1 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    634
    Likes Received:
    15
    Did my domain make much revenue?, I didn't add it because I couldn't be bothered in all fairness as I didn't think it would make anything.

    I'll add it now though, lesson learned (I would have noticed eventually though)
     
  9. nickbweb

    nickbweb Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok this idea might make no sence at all, but it made sence in my head so bare with me...

    how about havin two versions of your account that you can lgin into?

    main account: much like it is now with all the same settigns, options etc.

    extra login (version 2/ addon login whatever you want to call it): when you log into this account all you can see is stats. you cant change any settings, view any searches or change any passwords, emails etc. this login would be purely for viewing the domain stats.

    and the only way you can change the password for the second login would be from within the main account.

    something like this would:

    1) allow us to login from computers that we dont know if are secure or not without worrying that someone else could gain access to our acount. although they might be able to access the second login, they couldn't change or do anything to it.

    2) give access to prespective buyers to prove stats etc.

    I don't know if that all made sence or not , or even if its remotely possible but it was just something i thought of after i found a kelogger on a computer i was using last week.
     
  10. aqls

    aqls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    26
    keyloggers are scary - I found one too.

    Hope the bas**** had as much fun sifting through the spam as I do.

    I think your separate idea is a fair idea and it makes sense, though you'd still want to isolate a particular domain into its own area to show clients, you wouldn't want them to see the whole folio

    but a "less serious breach" entrance is a good idea in my opinion.

    (sort of let ND spend countless hours developing stuff to protect us from ourselves :D )

    J2,

    sorry but in the 20 minutes I had it it was completely useless!!

    (and thanks for that BB, I'm now looking for Rob's domains to hijack now I know they're fair game!)

    >>So you'd like a custom message for aqls
    Thanks ND, at last you're taking me seriously

    and sorry to be a pain but I'm still waiting for the bells everytime someone clicks.

    -aqls-
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2006
  11. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Ill second that Sir! :mrgreen:
     
  12. texidriver

    texidriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    13
    Please can I set a folder page size and keep it so it displays the total each time?

    Please can I set the domains in a folder alphabetically and keep it that way?

    Ta muchly.
     
  13. NameDriver

    NameDriver NameDrive Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    717
    Likes Received:
    8
    OK, on the individual points...

    eetc, keep bugging, it is on the list. On a similar note, all of the new landers have the hearder image separate from the domain name so that, if you have a domain name longer than 12 characters, it doesn't disappear into the header.

    texidriver, yes, I think some sort of 'save preferences' thing is in order. Being technically stupid, I would imagine that this would involve some sort of cookie action.

    aqls, nickweb. This is why I ask you guys. I'm not sure we would ever have come up with this idea. I will be perfectly honest here and say that I think it's unlikely to be one of our next implementations, although offering 'limited access accounts' may not be as tricky as I originally imagined it would be. I'll look into how tough it would be to get done.

    Hope you all have good Sunday evenings.

    Ed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page