Domain Manage

Blog integration

Discussion in 'Scripts and Coding' started by theonemanyuri, Dec 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've been crawling the web but to no avail, I want to insert a blog into an existing page. All I've found so far is people saying install WP and then style it to look like the rest of your site, or change the rest of the site to WP. I haven't got time to do that and the majority of the site is already built. I was about to give up when I read a vague article about PHP includes?

    Does anyone have any idea how to do this? My PHP knowledge is next to none. To put it as simply as I can, I've got a space 650px wide by any length and want to place a blog there, much as you would with an iframe for example. Any help much appreciated
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    PM me the link and I will have a look
     
  4. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,084
    Likes Received:
    115
    Why don't you install WP in a sub-folder to your main site and just link to it?

    sitename.co.uk

    sitename.co.uk/blog
     
  5. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    I want it to look exactly the same as every other page on the site not just a bolt on if you see what I mean, same nav, header, everything.

    It's not live yet bensd, still rushing to get it finished. I just the want the bare blog part of a WP page, no sidebar, header etc. then just slap it in the middle of one of my existing pages if that makes sense.
     
  6. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,084
    Likes Received:
    115
    Wordpress works more like the other way around. You could put a WP frame around your existing pages without really knowing WP is there.

    Admin
     
  7. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ye I know, the blog is only there for SEO purposes though I don't want to mess around with the whole site for a blog.

    You could put a WP frame around your existing pages without really knowing WP is there. - could you explain?
     
  8. peter_w United Kingdom

    peter_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    18
    You're probably never going to get a 'blog' solution just by dropping a piece of code into a space like you would with an iframe.

    I honestly think you should spend a couple of hours familiarising yourself with the basic Wordpress loop and you will be able to achieve what you require, with any pre-designed site, in under half an hour.

    In the most simple form, a Wordpress theme only needs a few things to work.

    Your existing head with <?php wp_head(); ?> inserted, your existing sidebar (exactly as it is if you so wish), your existing main body with the Wordpress loop inserted where you have that 650px space... And your existing footer with a call to <?php wp_footer(); ?>inserted.
     
  9. Tricky1 United Kingdom

    Tricky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    373
    Likes Received:
    19
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page