Domain Manage

Can you catch manually using whois ?

Discussion in 'Drop catching Domain Names' started by aquanuke, Jun 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ive been refreshing whois every few minutes while Im sitting at a PC and earlier I refreshed the page said "Suspended" then I refreshed the page 2 seconds latter came back "Registered" :-x

    Even if it did come up available would take me atleast 4 minutes to go to a registrar, stick it in the cart and add my creditcard...

    Are dropcatchers really that quick? Like seconds to catch them or is the whois just slow to update.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. bb99 United Kingdom

    bb99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    38
    My experience is that this method will only work if nobody else is chasing the name you're looking at.

    The problem you've got is that WHOIS is only updated every 5 minutes, but the "live database" is updated in real time. A typical time line would be:

    9.00am - WHOIS updated
    9.01am - Your WHOIS check says domain is suspended
    9.02am - Domain released for registration
    9.02am - Your WHOIS check says domain is suspended (even though it isn't)
    9.03am - Domain is registered by someebody else
    9.04am - Your WHOIS check says domain is suspended (even though it isn't)
    9.05am - WHOIS updated
    9.05am - Your WHOIS now shows the new registrant's registration
     
  4. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25

    unfortunately for us YES
    for them they probably arent fast enough as they are still getting pipped to good domain by other dropcatchers

    You have to realise that while you sit there spinning on your chair hitting the refresh every now and again and looking at a database that doesn't update all that often dropcatchers have automated scripts that continually querry the "live" system and with so many people playing the bigger game these days any scrap will more than likely get snapped up before your whois record even knew it happend

    good luck
     
  5. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    It is possible. I have a robot that watches whois and registers via a tag automatically. I don't own a tag so I can't fire speculative emails. I have registered many but I suspect that in each case they dropped in the 30 or so seconds prior to the whois database being updated and I looked them up in within a few seconds. So, basically, a good amount of luck was involved.

    Chris
     
  6. domainer United Kingdom

    domainer Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Where do you get info on producing a robot to check whois. I haven't got a tag and would be interested in using one to check and register domains
     
  7. eetc

    eetc Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wrote it. Its a VB app using a (now huge) SQL database.

    Chris
     
  8. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    34
    opps got a bit carried away
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page