Domain Manage

Cause of 508 error page

Discussion in 'Website Design' started by diablo, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    I'm seeing this:

    Error 508. Resource Limit Is Reached

    This website is temporarily unable to service your request as it has exceeded it’s resource limit. Please check back shortly.


    I reported it to my host and they say the cause is:

    "As per our check, overuse of the account resources is caused by the search engines optimization gaps."

    Does anyone know what that even means?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    83
    Robots are using up all of the resources you've paid for on your hosting package (processor time, bandwidth, memory allowance, etc).

    Move to a better package and consider using htaccess or whatever to block bots you don't care about.
     
  4. accelerator United Kingdom

    accelerator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    7,397
    Likes Received:
    109
    It's not good English and not a good explanation.

    If you have good over your allocated resources, it's usually bandwidth, i.e. data allowance. So, your page may have been served a lot of times and you've used up your daily or monthly data allowance. This sometimes happens if bots visit your site and automatically view a lot of your pages. I have had to block a lot of bots from my sites, you might need to do the same.
     
  5. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thank you both.
     
  6. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    Odds are excessive memory usage, often caused by poor plug ins. Just check your logs and nuke the hogs.
     
  7. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks Skinner. Did initially think it was plugins so disabled what I could. Remaining ones (only six in total) are pretty standard like Wordfence, Akismet, etc.,

    Is it the raw logs in cpanel that I should be looking through?
     
  8. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    If you have lots of images and on the fly watermarking / resizing that can be a killer too.

    Cpanel logs should show you known bots, Google analytics should also tell you which Ip's are hammering your site.

    Failing that, Raw logs will reveal them.

    I would check Google analytics first, then cpanel like awstats, then raw.
     

Share This Page