Domain Manage

DAC Lookup

Discussion in 'Nominet Tag Holders' started by ukdomains, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ukdomains

    ukdomains Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    if i preform a lookup for google.co.uk every 2ms

    how long will my quota last ?

    i would really appericate your advice guys i am not asking for any strategy or tip lol before i get slapped :p but it would be helpful if i was given a little hit

    Thanks for your help guys
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member13

    retired_member13 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2009
    Posts:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    33
    See quota details here: Real time DAC

     
  4. ukdomains

    ukdomains Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks ty for the prompt reply
     
  5. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    at 2ms, you would run out in what about 2-3 seconds for that minute ?

    Its 1,000 rolling per minute.

    4 per second (every 250ms) lasts you the whole day :)
     
  6. aZooZa

    aZooZa Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    92
    You may be coding for 2ms but you have latency to factor in. The easiest way to check that is to run your script, and then access the server and 'tail' the DAC output in real time. That will show you how hard you're hitting it.

    Alternatively, telnet to the DAC server on the correct port and issue a '#usage' command. Repeat after 60 seconds, and perform the calculation. If you do this, make sure the local IP address of your machine (if it's not your server) is entered in the DAC IP options in your Nominet control panel.

    If you don't know how the world sees your external IP, check it at whatismyipaddress.com.

    Cheers!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page