Domain Manage

Do you still type 'www' when visiting a website?

Discussion in 'The Bar' started by ian, May 27, 2016.

?

Do you still type 'www' when visiting a website?

  1. Yes

    22.7%
  2. No

    68.2%
  3. Whatever I feel like at the time!

    9.1%
  1. ian

    ian Well-Known Member Acorn Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    83
    Finding myself less and less typing 'www' in the address bar when visiting a website. Whilst most sites open, some still don't auto-forward to their format of choice (annoying). I wonder if we are moving away from the use of www. or is it just me!
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    If we didn't have .wtf and .secondhandusedjapanesedriftcars and .whatever, I think www would have been long gone, but now when you see ians.digital on a van, how on earth do you know its a website ?

    I still prefer www.dom.etc for clarity.
     
  4. BeachLife United Kingdom

    BeachLife Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2014
    Posts:
    206
    Likes Received:
    10
    I didn't think I would, but I find myself more and more adopting the method I found my teenage children using a few years ago - just type the name, without www prefix or domain extension, and hit return. Either the browser will pick up the correct domain in time and send you there, or you click the first result in Google.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. MikeJDS

    MikeJDS Retired Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2009
    Posts:
    574
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think the last time I typed WWW in the address bar, I was probably still on AOL dial up on a 56k modem.
     
  6. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    It depends :)

    I'll often not type it if it is a site I use regularly, but I do find there are some sites I visit that don't work and you have to enter the www. If I was putting it on a van or advert, then I'd use the www
     
  7. martin-s United Kingdom

    martin-s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Posts:
    2,451
    Likes Received:
    83
    Nah, just Ctrl+Enter :)
     
  8. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    Doesn't CTRL+enter only append the .com or can that be changed these days. There were some nasty hacks way back but I stopped using that when I moved into .uk.
     
  9. ImageAuthors United States

    ImageAuthors Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2012
    Posts:
    171
    Likes Received:
    5
    I only type "www." when the domain doesn't resolve otherwise. Many sites are badly configured and require the "www."
     
  10. danielcoates

    danielcoates Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2013
    Posts:
    132
    Likes Received:
    5
    I rarely type the 'www' part, in the most cases I think it's faster. Like Skinner & Monaghan both said, If I was using it in advertising, I would add the 'www' for clarity.
     
  11. Toonz United Kingdom

    Toonz Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2016
    Posts:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    It's years since I routinely typed www in the browser address bar.

    I do sometimes add it in brochures, posters etc but not always, it depends how the url looks.

    Some of the new TLDs don't yet look like URLs so I tend to add www in front of them so that it's more obvious, though they can still look weird and unfamiliar.
     
  12. othellotech United Kingdom

    othellotech Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2009
    Posts:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only if I'm checking to see why the just using the domain doesn't show a site.
     
  13. noonoo1

    noonoo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2011
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    12
    No
     
  14. sdsinc Iceland

    sdsinc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    494
    Likes Received:
    9
    Still doing it often. It's almost guaranteed to work, whereas leaving out www often doesn't work.
     
  15. spiderspider

    spiderspider Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2013
    Posts:
    677
    Likes Received:
    48
    Couple of months back I bought a sign and print shop.

    Just been down there, and raised this with the designers. Now this mainly applies to vehicle graphics and work wear etc as that's the bread and butter work, but they say if they don't put the WWW on the design, next to no one asks for it.

    Its mainly the older folk who ask for it, or for Tel: Email: and Web: to prefix their details.
     
  16. TallBloke

    TallBloke Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2008
    Posts:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    I do this too.
     
  17. sdsinc Iceland

    sdsinc Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    494
    Likes Received:
    9
    I forgot to add: I also put http:// on the business cards :p

    If you use a new extension (I don't), maybe it doesn't hurt the reinforce twice the fact that it's a real URL.
     

Share This Page