Domain Manage

Domain Research Tool

Discussion in 'Domain Research' started by chrisvaughanuk, Dec 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all,

    Before I put my hands in my pocket and cough up $199, I just wondered what everyone's experience has been with Domain Research Tool (http://www.domainresearchtool.com/). It seems to integrate with DAC, on port 2043 (rather than 3043 I think), and you get access to a few zone files so I'm almost sold on it. Is it worth the £199?

    Any feedback appreciated.

    Thanks and happy new year!


    Chris.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    Admin might have a link to a discount on it still so pm him first. I don't use it with my dac but it is quite useful. you'll want some decent proxy lists though.
     
  4. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks. I'll PM Alan; May be able to save a few quid for New Years Eve then!

    Chris.
     
  5. QualityNonsense

    QualityNonsense Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2007
    Posts:
    60
    Likes Received:
    4
    DRT is an awesome tool. Not used it w/ DAC integration, but just for quick 'n' dirty stats on 1000s/domains at a time it's definitely worth £199 IMHO. I think it's a steal for what it does.
     
  6. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for that. I'm likely to buy it at some point (mainly for the zone files) but until then I'm finding dce.co.uk pretty useful. I'd recommend that if anyone's not given it a go - particularly since it's currently free for the pro version.
     
  7. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just got on DCE with the free pro version. But when i want to check tomorrows drop list or 7 days drop list it says only available to paid pro members..? So what is the point in offering pro for free? Or have i done something wrong?
     
  8. Aaron Clifford United Kingdom

    Aaron Clifford Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    29
    You have to pay for that, it's free to use the other features.
     
  9. theonemanyuri

    theonemanyuri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2010
    Posts:
    556
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm guessing you would need to go through another party to actually catch drop names anyway or have a Nominet tag or something? (complete newb in terms or dropping). I can't see many gems being available on the day they drop I imagine most people have atleast 7 days warning?
     
  10. MCNM United Arab Emirates

    MCNM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ive just got it for $129 will let you know how i get on with it in the next few days!
     
  11. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Was it Domain Research Tool you got for $129? How did you manage that!? How are you finding it?
     
  12. MCNM United Arab Emirates

    MCNM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2007
    Posts:
    1,333
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeh PM me and ill tell you how, I'm still racking my brains round it at the moment will have to have a good read of the help guide but so far its worth the $129 for the .com and .co.uk zone files

     
  13. Simon United Kingdom

    Simon Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    3
    Quite a few affiliate links about the place for discounts, def worth hunting for.

    Would be interested to hear how you get on, especially with regards to a list of proxys.

    I picked DRT up last year, times got busy and I never got round to using it properly. Seems to have fantastic potential if combined with a particular niche/method. I believe the creator could customise to your requirements for additional $$$
     
  14. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just purchased it so I'll report back. Like you, I may struggle freeing up some time to do too much with it but we'll see...
     
  15. bensd United Kingdom

    bensd Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2007
    Posts:
    4,956
    Likes Received:
    53
    I bought it last year for that reason but it wouldn't let me download any zone files :(
     
  16. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2

    Arrrghhh! That could have been a waste of $129 then!

    I'm still waiting for the serial number to come through which is a bit annoying as I'm keen to get my searches started.

    Hopefully I'll get the zone files sorted and give you a shout then Ben. First I need to get the damn program activated though!
     
  17. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
  18. wb United Kingdom

    wb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2009
    Posts:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    34
    Admin - I'd like a PM with more information on this including any discounts too please :)
     
  19. brum

    brum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    579
    Likes Received:
    6
    Me too admin ta
     
  20. chrisvaughanuk United Arab Emirates

    chrisvaughanuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2004
    Posts:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone else get an error when performing a UK whois (both via proxies and without - not using DAC) or is it just me? I'm running it in a VM via a Mac but everything else seems to work as far as networking goes so I doubt it's my setup that's at fault.

    EDIT: Luc at DRT has confirmed it is a problem at their end - kind of. Apparently Nominet has made a few changes that have affected the .co.uk queries. He did say they're working on an update right now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page