Domain Manage

Escrow services

Discussion in 'General Board' started by Brassneck, Feb 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brassneck United Kingdom

Brassneck Well-Known Member

Secured a sale with a large company for mid XXX. They are insisting on sending only half fee before I tranfer, with rest of fee on completion. I've never worked this way round before so I suggested using an escrow service (with assumption they would pay the fees).

They went ahead and sent money to escrow.com (in dollars). My understanding is that I would receive a US dollar cheque unless I pay a siginifcant fee for a wire transfer. Then I would lost out on exchange rate fees plus paying in a foreign check. I've emailed back to say I'm not doing this.

I have now suggested using sedo as an intermediary with them paying the commission, or paypal where buyers seem to be heavily protected. Any other ideas? Anybody ever used escrow.com?

Thanks
    Stephen.

2. Domain Forum

Acorn Domains Elite Member

3. tifosi United Kingdom

tifosi Well-Known Member

I've used escrow.com. Worked seamlessly. They have a solution specifically for domain transfers. Think it cost ~£35 in total for the transfer.

Have used sedo.coms third party escrow as well. Was, not surprisingly, slightly slower than escrow.

Only problem with escroe is that it's all in $$ so you're at the mercy of exchange rate fluctuatons +/-

S

4. foz

foz Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

I use Escrow.com. Usually 50/50 fee split. I incur US$40 for the wire payment.

If buyers are unhappy with dealing is US$ I refer to Sedo third party escrow.

5. mojoco United Kingdom

mojoco Well-Known Member