Domain Manage

Generic Landing page with adverts

Discussion in 'General Board' started by SF, Sep 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Hi Guys,

    Been looking at my parking revenue and its always on the decline, I am thinking of creating one page to divert all my 1500 names to, ideally lots of high paying adverts as my domains cover many sectors, would this be possible? is anyone doing this?

    Sorry if its in the wrong section?

    Thanks
    Sean
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. WigWam Singapore

    WigWam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2009
    Posts:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    23
    would probably be easier if you make a few landing pages (e.g. finance, health, shopping) and put a bit of content below them (gets relevant adverts to show) with a simple contact form in the middle with a box for people to type what domain they want to put an offer on :)

    WigWam
     
  4. Brassneck United Kingdom

    Brassneck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    29
    Under development, and by no means perfect I am sure, but I am doing this just using default Amazon widgets. Here is a trial name I set up (it is automated) - www.circa1950.co.uk. It's all done via Wordpress so then possible to edit pages and customise further if I wish - and I can replace the default Amazon stuff with something else.

    Stephen.
     
  5. fish United Kingdom

    fish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2006
    Posts:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    27
    Are you using wp mu?

    Am thinking you could deploy lots of sites using MU, have one set of 'standards" that every site could pull in therefore keeping server resources to a minimum.

    By standards I'm thinking of;
    - one set of ads (via plugin) that rolls out across the sites
    - one standard set of pages (contact / privacy/ about etc)
    - ditto with menus
     
  6. Brassneck United Kingdom

    Brassneck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    29
    No - just regular wordpress. There is an importer which creates a single page on my www.xec.co.uk site and an automatic redirect from the types in url using the fabulous.com redirection service.

    Stephen.
     
  7. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Great idea stephen, without giving to much away has sales improved and rev stream gone up?
     
  8. jimm United Kingdom

    jimm Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2008
    Posts:
    688
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ive just set up a quick demo of the technology for someone else here.
    Simply point a domain to the nameservers and it will resolve to a page. Grab the domain and act upon that info.

    Im only demo'ing the hardware and software so havent set it up to serve ads or anything at the moment so no comments on sales or revenue.
     
  9. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    I use a system similar to what Jimm desribes. I only worked on it for a few hours (all posted on acorn as is 80% of the code). I use it on most my parking pages, I never developed much advertising into it, which I really need to sort.

    I have built some basic theme changes into it, but not implemented them. I will when I can be bothered add 'categories' which will dictate a relevant theme.

    I use it on http://www.goosedown.co.uk and http://www.phonerecycler.co.uk, I added the option to remove the contact box like on http://www.ephedrina.co.uk. The counter logs referers, and some other info too.

    Since I started using this system, I noticed ALOT of more inquires, and it helps indexing with the menu's, affiliates on their do well too.
     
  10. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    Ok so ive created a page littered with advertisments, whats the easiest way of forwarding 2,000 names? :p
     
  11. WigWam Singapore

    WigWam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2009
    Posts:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    23
    send you host an email saying you want all your domains - the ones you dont want forwarding to certain nameservers. they should be able to do it in bulk :)

    WigWam
     
  12. willbon United Kingdom

    willbon Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    447
    Likes Received:
    8
    ... And if they can't... Set up a site with the domains as alias' then 301 that domain to your main domain page of adverts.

    Seo friendly
     
  13. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,128
    Likes Received:
    45
    I've been building my own and gradually migrating domains to it as they are renewed. It's all database driven to a single default script via some apache/bind jiggery pokery and some quick but intensive php/mysql & jQuery. About 3/4 done. Just some extra dynamic affiliate ads & widgets to do. Single template at the moment, but multi-category templating is built in, just off .

    e.g's http://www.darkrooms.co.uk, http://www.tvhd.co.uk/

    The ideas to use my own adsense & layer in affiliate widgets (e.g amazon, awin) and banners.

    S
     
  14. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    is 301 the safest way to forward a bunch of domains to another main site.
     
  15. SF

    SF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Posts:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    57
    I actualy came across these today whilst searching "generic domain names" great work best ive seen.
     
  16. willbon United Kingdom

    willbon Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Posts:
    447
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry for delay getting back to you...

    Yes.. definitely get a permanent (code 301) forward BUT make sure that all the domains are alias'd under the one that is being forwarded... then Google won't overlook you.

    I've manged PR1 for a site with the fwd in place

    This is a good checker.....

    http://www.webconfs.com/redirect-check.php
     
  17. tifosi United Kingdom

    tifosi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2004
    Posts:
    3,128
    Likes Received:
    45
    There's many ways of doing it. The most seamless way I've found requires some knowledge of apache httpd.conf set up and works best with a server with BIND/named running i.e. a caching nameserver. Each new domain then has a dns entry added and a virtalhost entry in httpd.conf.

    The entry in httpd.conf can be RedirectPermanent, RedirectTemporary, parked via a serverAlias entry or directed to a web visible home directory. RedirectPermanent is effectively a 301.

    Of course if you have a host account with cPanel WHM this can be done through that, though if you're more confident and have SSH with root access then via command line.

    S
     
  18. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
    On the subject of WP and multi domains from one database. Has anyone done this and how?

    I've read Q&A, forums, and How to's but seems a lot of work for the desired effect of 1 install and lots of domains.

    What's the easiest way!

    Any info or examples greatful I think :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page