Domain Manage

heartinternet deleted all my sites

Discussion in 'Hosting' started by retired_member6, Feb 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    after two weeks of deactivation, nice eh, I didnt have any back ups, there's a lesson for me. if I could burn their company down and get away with it, I would. Nice of them to restart my reseller account, like I'll be ****** using that now, their accounts dept has the brains of a fresh cow turd. They just lost £400 a year.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    cliffhanger, "we're setting it back up" whatever that means.
     
  4. jp135

    jp135 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2008
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    was wondering where the blog had gone

    Ive had probs with them aswell before, bunch of muppets only rivaled by streamline
     
  5. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
  6. Pred United Kingdom

    Pred Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2006
    Posts:
    7,208
    Likes Received:
    73
    it will be backed up, but you will have to pay no doubt

    i had enough of messing about with hosting couple of years back and went the dedicated server route. i have that many sites, its well worth the $110 a month.

    you wouldnt register domains with hosting companies, so why use their hosting? its usually expensive and shite.

    also having own server etc helps seo also apparently

    i also use a friend who has his own setup and is basically a server geek. i email him any hour of day or night if i think its slow for some reason or a site down. he's on it in 1 minute flat

    hope you get it sorted
     
  7. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    Best thing I ever did, unfortunately you need to feel the pain before you learn sometimes.
     
  8. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    They can put the content back but I need the initial database names and password for the bloody stuff to work again, is there any way of unlocking the data? any way of getting db name and password from the files, the one I want access to straight away is the wordpress blog, can it be done?
     
  9. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    Nope, I got some sites back but others were lost like a fart in the wind.

    Saying that you can open up your config files and get the names from that.
     
  10. stevebrowne

    stevebrowne Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    878
    Likes Received:
    11
    yeah - should be in wp-config.php
     
  11. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    Names? as in db names? what about password or they're all encrypted, I might have them somewhere as I did jot a load down at the start but unsure. Poxy bloody company, I don't understand it, two weeks and they delete everything, madness. I just want the blog, database merch sites can be rebuilt although I did like the template. Even if you delete a clients site, they keep it for 50 days. They didn't give me the same time.

    I've asked them for the back ups anyway, but I'd really like to gat at my posts on the business blog, self righteous, self opionated, clap trap maybe but I'd like the posts back. Any wordpress wizards out there?
     
  12. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joomla mine mate, not used wordpress.

    But tell them all they need is the db names, they don't need to the passwords. If they put the db's back then your config files will match up to the password in the db, even though it's encrypted.

    The rest in your text about them is accurate though :D
     
  13. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,084
    Likes Received:
    115
    Go to the root of the site (or the root of where wordpress is installed)

    FTP the file wp-config.php to your PC and open it in a text viewer.

    At the top should be this:
    If you can get FTP access back (and know the FTP login info) I could do it for you, assuming you are happy to change your login info afterwards.

    Admin
     
  14. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks for the help, I pasted the last two replies into the support ticket, I'll look into it myself more after I loaded tomorrow's names, thanks again.

    Lee
     
  15. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'll look at this in the morning, headache.
     
  16. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    Ask them if they are stupid?
     
  17. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,084
    Likes Received:
    115
  18. GreyWing

    GreyWing Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    4,068
    Likes Received:
    59
    How can they possibly not know what a config file is or what it does? Lee if they aren't clinically brain dead, then they are just playing dumb so you go through all your files and do it yourself.

    Which is pointless if they have them all at there end already.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2009
  19. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    I looked in wp-config.php

    and found this, looks like they masked it, would db be anywhere else?

    define('DB_NAME', 'web53-a-word-133'); // The name of the database
    define('DB_USER', 'web53-a-word-133'); // Your MySQL username
    define('DB_PASSWORD', ' looks correct'); // ...and password
     
  20. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,084
    Likes Received:
    115
    'web53-a-word-133' is the name of your database, they can't find it?
     
  21. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    It's not the name, I never would have typed that, wordpress must've masked it with 'a-word'
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page