Domain Manage

Help with www prefix please

Discussion in 'General Board' started by Systreg, Sep 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Delete please

    Could admin or mods delete this topic now, please, cheers.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. seemly

    seemly Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2011
    Posts:
    973
    Likes Received:
    39
    if you have the ability to use .HTACCESS, open notepad, create a file and save at is: .htaccess

    Open the file and add the following code:

    Code:
    #redirects non www to point to www
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^paydayloansservice.co.uk [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.paydayloansservice.co.uk/$1 [L,R=301]
    
    Then upload this file to the root folder of your site. Simples. :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    Hi Seemly,

    Thanks, it seems to be working this morning without me doing anything other than adding www. in my browser, so I uploaded the html files again with all the www.'s included and it's working fine.

    I've saved your reply to notepad in case I need it again in future.

    Mods, feel free to delete this topic, cheers.
     
  5. redbird United Kingdom

    redbird Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2005
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    18
    If you had recently only changed nameservers on the domain it can take up to 48 hours for the DNS to propogate and it's not uncommon for the www and non www to resolve to different hosts. For example if I change nameservers from one parking company to another for a period the www and non www can resolve to DIFFERENT parking companies.

    I think you just need to have waited a little longer


    The .htaccess suggestion above is also worth doing if you have access to it so that there is only ONE site not TWO for SEO purposes
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Systreg

    Systreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2008
    Posts:
    6,586
    Likes Received:
    96
    @ Redbird,

    In that case, I probably didn't give it long enough, I changed the nameserves in my Nominet account and uploaded the files to HostGator, nothing showing, then after about half an hour, only the non www. was showing, so I thought I had messed something up, like I sometimnes do :)

    Will bear that in mind about still adding the .HTACCESS so that it doesn't count as 2 sites for seo, not that I'll be doing any seo on it.

    [edit]

    Scratch the .HTACCESS thing, had a look but no idea how to do it, ain't fussed anyway.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2011
  7. js1

    js1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2011
    Posts:
    323
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just sent you a pm, hope it helps...
     
    • Like Like x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page