Domain Manage

How to change my website's ip address?

Discussion in 'Domain Name Registrars' started by Takwa, Oct 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Takwa United Kingdom

    Takwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is it possible to change a website's ip address by changing host or even transfering the domain to another register?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. ScottJ United Kingdom

    ScottJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yes, the ip address is based on the server it's hosted on so moving hosts will change it, changing domain registrar will not. Your host may even be able to give you your own ip for a small monthly fee.
     
  4. Takwa United Kingdom

    Takwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    So technically if the nameserver is changed the ip is changed?
     
  5. andreyknure

    andreyknure Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I know you need to change A-record for a domain in order to point a website to another IP address!
     
  6. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    78
    Changing the name server won't really change the IP, because the name servers are more like a map, and many people hold/create maps.

    I have a choice of about 30 different name servers with 30 different IPs but my websites have different IPs again. Running DNS, SQL, Websites all on server is risky, and not great for scaling.

    You should contact your host and ask about a dedicated IP, I have one with dreamhost, and I have emailed them in the past and asked them to refresh my IP (change) and they have without any major problems, my other host I havent needed to ask.
     
  7. Takwa United Kingdom

    Takwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    so will changing the ip gets you off the "blocked list"???? ;)
     
  8. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    41
    depends whether the subnet has been blocked rather than just the IP, often if a subnet is blocked, then other subnets for that provider may also be blocked.

    You need to find out why your IP has been blocked otherwise you'll simply get blocked each time you change.
     
  9. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    78
    Depends who has blocked you and how they have blocked you :p

    They can block by URI, IP, Subnet or I believe maybe by MAC. I know at work we block people by MACs.
     
  10. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,293
    Likes Received:
    78
    Monaghan, The host can request removal of a subnet ban, and I believe there are laws/rules in place where they cannot block a host thru the action of 1 user only if its repeated abuse.
     
  11. Takwa United Kingdom

    Takwa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    7
    say if it was an adsense ban?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page