Domain Manage

I'm totally lost?

Discussion in 'SEO Search Engine Optimisation' started by stender, Aug 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    HAve had www.leytonorient.co.uk up and running for a couple of months now and still Google hasn't cached the site or listed it? I have google sitemap installed which is reporting no errors, robots.txt is ok, I have seen googlebot visiting but still nothing?
    Have contacted google for hints but surpise surprise their useless support just send back irrelevant links. Have posted on google groups but no help there.
    I have inbound links, and am paying for adwords and even appear on wikipedia but am lost as to why still no google??????:confused: :confused: :confused:

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    Strange I would have thought you'd be there by now. Even though it takes years for fan sites to take off or gather pace and get a community, I'll link to you as you've put in some work. You'll be in within a week to fifteen days and if you're not well it must be banned. ;)

    Cheers
    Lee
     
  4. clem

    clem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    I could be way off the mark here....random theory time :)

    Did you park it at Sedo when you were developing it?

    I know Google hates parking pages. I don't know how they store what URLs are a parking page and what isn't. Is it possible that somehow your site is marked as a 'parking page' hence any listings etc aren't possible until you are disassociated with parking pages? So even if the googlebot did visit, you might be on a 'blacklist' somewhere (for want of a better phrase?) so anything it did find would automatically be discarded?
     
  5. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    That's what I have repeatedly tried asking google but they are ignorant!
    It was previously owned by the club and had a pr of 2 i then reg'd it and parked at sedo whilst i developed it. It then got dropped off. I'm convinced it's blacklisted in some way but who can you ask? Google t@ssers just send you links on webmaster crap! :twisted: I'm paying these greedy t@ssers for adwords whilst it's not listed so that's probably why they won't help!:twisted:

    p.s. Cheers Lee.
     
  6. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Google has been having some problems recently, and it got to such a point that i completely gave up on google!

    I did'nt even bother checking (as i usually would on updates for my site), instead i concentrated on getting a few quality links to my site and on getting MSN to index more pages.

    Sure enough as MSN starting indexing more and more pages, suddenly up pops Google (well the bots has actually visited over 20000 times this month!) and suddenly my pages are indexed!

    So the moral of the story?

    1) Google is crap!

    2) Quality (high PR & One way) links from relevant sites are great!
     
  7. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    apparently google has been updating all day today. so i recon it will take a few days for it to settle down.
     
  8. sneezycheese

    sneezycheese Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    550
    Likes Received:
    15
    ...Try this little nugget with these guys: http://www.mirago.com/advertisers/signup.aspx?product=pl

    On balance, it turns out that the 48 hour indexing seems to work out as the best option to go for.

    ...I'm sure that'll sort you out a treat - plus extra's. :)

    I'm a bit supprised they've not been mentioned before on this forum.

    Regards,

    Sneezycheese.
     
  9. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    I have used Mirago in the past for website content, but you have to remember to send them an invoice each month for what you have calculated your earnings to be off thier reporting system, it's all too much hastle.
     
  10. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Great looking site by the way.

    Add it to your forum sig here and see what that does, the Googlebot will be here before long.

    Also, try adding some adsense to the homepage, and see if that makes any difference to Google listing the site.

    SEO:

    Your Title relevancy to page content is 80%
    The Description relevancy to page content is 50%
    Keyword relevancy to page content is terrible, only 22%
    The word 'forum' is known as a poison keyword

    Google would list your site like this:

    Add more keywords into the homepage that match your meta keywords.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  11. retired_member6

    retired_member6 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    5,605
    Likes Received:
    29
    The trouble is, his site aint even in google, see how he does when he gets listed. Google is probably back on 15 days, quite why it's not in yet I don't know.
     
  12. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks all for the input. I would of at least expected it to be cached even if it had a pr of 10000!

    Admin, i did try adsense previously but i'm not too clued up on it and need to read more. I did put it on the fixtures page i had but it just displayed ads for fixtures and fittings! :confused:

    I do have more content ideas but thought why bother?
     
  13. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've also searched on the other main engines and can't see the site on there either??? there must be something fundamentally wrong with the site:confused: ?
     
  14. admin Spain

    admin Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2004
    Posts:
    10,083
    Likes Received:
    115
    Your robots.txt file is buggered, it has no valid user-agent setting.

    Try adding
    at the top line and see what happens.
     
  15. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cheers Admin :D , I think that robots over wrote my previous one. It was one supplied with a forum mod!. Sitemaps said it was ok though so that's a lot of good. I've added the line now, so fingers crossed. I'm gonna alter the page keywords too.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2006
  16. saffy29

    saffy29 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    maiden in distress please help

    Hi im sooo new to all this . I have a website Purple Craft Emporium - craft and card making supplies

    I dont know anything about bitmaps or how to get it onto google.

    Im such a novice.

    I have thought of buying a co.uk domain name so i could put a link to my site on there.

    Any suggestions would be so welcome
    thanks sooo much

    saffy :mrgreen:
     
  17. BFTUK

    BFTUK Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2006
    Posts:
    888
    Likes Received:
    10
    Welcome to the forum Saffy.

    I see stender has now got his pages indexed. Good spot admit, looking back now it was obviously a robots text error! (Not indexed on and SE's!)

    Anyway Saffy, you really do need to get your own domain name and host your own site so you don't have a URL with a sub-directory name, it'll help you look more professional.

    Also consider investing in a template for OS commerce to get away from that standard look, try googling template monster, they have some nice (if a little pricey) templates there.

    If your looking for more SEO advice try this forum TIP // Index
     
  18. deconstruction

    deconstruction Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    15
    I never really understood this as i thought sedo used googles adsense for domains xml feed.

    google also offer adsense for domains, AND they say its for people who have domains due for development. e.g you park using their feed and once developed you switch to normal adsense.
     
  19. Ellis United Kingdom

    Ellis Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    9
    At least it's there now
     
  20. retired_member12

    retired_member12 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2006
    Posts:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    23
    Not even HTML 4.01 Transitional

    I'm sorry to point this out, but the Google BOT is probably turning up at your home page and giving up before it even starts.

    I've had a look at your underlying code, which you state as HTML 4.01 Transitional (the very basic of standards in my mind, Strict would be much better). If you enter your web address at the site here The W3C Markup Validation Service it fails Transitional by a huge margin, with 87 errors listed for the home page alone.

    Do yourself a favour and address these issues, and you will be amazed by the results!
     
  21. Ellis United Kingdom

    Ellis Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2005
    Posts:
    814
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just tried this on one of my sites..

    52 errors mostly affiliate links incorrect or ALT TAGS not specified.

    Also tried it on expedia .co.uk - 164 errors!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page