Domain Manage

Keeping a non-live WP site hidden

Discussion in 'Wordpress' started by Alien, Mar 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alien

    Alien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    57
    What does everyone do or use (if anything) when you're working on a live Wordpress site before actual launch?

    Do you use plugins to allow you to build the site from the backend but displays a public 'coming soon' etc page (to public and search engines) or do you build offline and transfer over when complete?

    Are there plugins that do this sort of thing that people can recommend?

    Thanks all. :)
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. SecNam

    SecNam Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    5,127
    Likes Received:
    37
    i just password protect the root folder until i am ready to open the site im working on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Alien

    Alien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    57
    Ahhh, thanks Paul, I forgot the obvious and easiest method! LOL. :)
     
  5. murph

    murph Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2005
    Posts:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can easily ip restrict in htaccess too. Best to route to a coming soon or under maintenance page with correct http status code too.
     
  6. peter_w United Kingdom

    peter_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    18
    I just have two themes on the site. The activated theme shows some kind of coming soon page (with or without a mailing list sign up, depending on what you are doing), while I actively work on the inactive theme which you can view via the "preview" link on the themes page. If you right click on it and open it in a new tab, it works just like the "live" website.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Aiden Roberts

    Aiden Roberts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2011
    Posts:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well I didn't know that, nice one.

    Aiden
     
  8. peter_w United Kingdom

    peter_w Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2008
    Posts:
    558
    Likes Received:
    18
    The only thing you have to be concious of is the functions.php file. If you use any custom post types and such forth (anything advanced that you have to manually create via a function), you will need the same functions.php in both themes in order for the Dashboard to have the correct menus so you can add posts etc.
     
  9. retired_member21

    retired_member21 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2008
    Posts:
    742
    Likes Received:
    13
    Think wordpress has a maintenance mode too? Perhaps you could activate this (used during updates)
     
  10. boxfish United Kingdom

    boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2010
    Posts:
    877
    Likes Received:
    38
    I change my hosts file on my PC to point at the hosting package I'm working on. I point the nameservers somewhere else until I'm ready to launch.
     
  11. viceroy United Kingdom

    viceroy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2010
    Posts:
    296
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just use the 'maintenance mode' plugin?
     
  12. Alien

    Alien Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2006
    Posts:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thanks all, some great ideas there. :)

    I like Peter's - that way I can display a countdown type page, collect e-mail sign-ups etc and work on the site behind closed doors. :D
     
  13. retired_member33

    retired_member33 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2010
    Posts:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    13
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page