Domain Manage

keywords

Discussion in 'Sedo' started by texidriver, Oct 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. texidriver

    texidriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    13
    When choosing keywords for a .co.uk domain the preview window will show
    mostly Uk adverts which I want, but when resolved they are all from the US !
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member30

    retired_member30 Retired Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Are you using AOL ? - if so Sedo will very often serve US ads. It's something I raised with them a long time ago when I noticed most of our ads were US. It transpired that google (whose adverts appear on sedo) categorise AOL users as american, which is a big problem because an awful lot of the UK are on AOL (perhaps 25%).
     
  4. retired_member30

    retired_member30 Retired Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Further to the above post, it could be older versions of AOL that are the problem - we've just upgraded to AOL 9 and just checked and it seems ok now.
     
  5. texidriver

    texidriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    13
    I do not use AOL and where I am has nothing to do with who sees my domain on SEDO.
    If I register www.lorrydriverbackrubs.co.uk I don't want to see "truckersrus" adverts.
     
  6. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    34
    Whats the lorries and trucks have to do with the geo location?

    As long as its .co.uk tld google will serve correctly targetted ads to UK visitors.

    How are you attempting to view the ads? Which country you in, are you viewing behind a proxy.
     
  7. retired member 1

    retired member 1 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    634
    Likes Received:
    15
    It may have something to do with your ISP, when I see ads or when I load google up I get Google germany by default and germany is also the default country on most of the forms I fill in.

    It's due to my static IP.
     
  8. texidriver

    texidriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    13
    If I go to GoogleUK and look for "pages from the UK" ...search -lorries-I don't want truck,trucking stuff from Turkey.
    If I am in Turkey and I google...arsenalfc.co.uk and get sent to a sedoparking page that has the keywords "arsenal,football,club,uk,england etc, does it show Galatasaray adverts?
    What's the point.
     
  9. aquanuke

    aquanuke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Posts:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    34
    This is what I see..

    http://www.aquanuke.com/lorries.jpg

    You may have to save the image locally to stop your browser resizing it.

    I see your point about trucks, but in fairness they are kind of similiar.

    But the top 2 are for lorries and you want folks to click on only the top 3 as there the highest earning adverts for you.. so it could work in your favour if the first three are highly relevant and the rest crap :razz:

    Does what I see differ from what your getting ?
     
  10. texidriver

    texidriver Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2005
    Posts:
    488
    Likes Received:
    13
    yes I see the same page on googleUK.

    my point is that when choosing keywords for a .co.uk domain like chipbutty I have a
    certain target in mind.

    Sedo shows me fishnchip related adverts in the preview window but when resolved they are for microchips and bums.

    Would you go to a "autotrunk sale" ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page