Domain Manage

Krystal down again ?

Discussion in 'Hosting' started by droid, Jul 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. droid United Kingdom

    droid Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anyone else having issues today ?

    All my sites down and cannot access krystal homepage

    Gary
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. retired_member21

    retired_member21 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2008
    Posts:
    742
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hmm :shock:

    Same here

    Manage sites on 3x their IPs - and they are all down so looks like most their network down.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2009
  4. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
  5. retired_member21

    retired_member21 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2008
    Posts:
    742
    Likes Received:
    13
    Look ok now

    I've had no problem with them before and am confident they'll resolve the situation / safeguard against similar situations in the future
     
  6. golddiggerguy United Kingdom

    golddiggerguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Posts:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    25
    No one can safe guard a power cut and a back up genny going down :p

    But yes I do have faith in the guys there and does seem to be out of their hands most of the time.
     
  7. droid United Kingdom

    droid Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    233
    Likes Received:
    3
    Now all back here too.

    Must admit this is minimal and I have nothing but praise for Krystal.

    Gary
     
  8. retired_member32

    retired_member32 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    21
    anyone having any issues?,my ftp failed now cannot access sites?

    3.21pm
     
  9. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    Don't Krystal use BlueSquare ? My dedi in BS and its not gone down.
     
  10. retired_member32

    retired_member32 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    21
    i don't know if i'm on an old server i think i maybe on ares,is anyone else having loads of downtime because i get a flood of emails from downtime tracking devices just to show it's not my end?
     
  11. retired_member32

    retired_member32 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    21
    i think i may have been hacked via ftp!!!!
     
  12. stender United Kingdom

    stender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've posted elsewhere i've been hacked via ftp. iframes stuck on my sites.
     
  13. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    There was a new release on box network around xmas that was a mod on Jack Hammer for FTP brute forcing, unlike control panels where you are locked out for x time, ftpd will let you hammer it 1,000s of times a minute without locking users out so ftp hacking has slowly been growing since xmas, expect it to get worse as jack hammer proliferates.

    Jack Hammer if you don't follow all things hax0r is like the DADDY of brute force cracking, it uses 100s of proxies thru dozens of instances of sockets and its xml programmable for new sites and stuff.

    p.s. Use phrase based passwords with basic number subs.

    i.e. Au5kbbn$t = Acorn Users Should Know Better By Now, Shouldn't They. They are almost uncrackable :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
  14. MrMason United Kingdom

    MrMason Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2008
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Guys,

    Just to let you know there are no problems with any of the servers at the moment, and our FTP software will block you entirely from the server if you get your password wrong more than 5 times - so chances are that you are in our firewall if you can't see the server.

    A good way to test, is to ping the server ip itself (77.72.0.130) and if that doesn't respond, then try another site on our network on a different server - so krystal.co.uk would be a good start (77.72.0.170) - if that doesn't work then check our status page : UK Hosting Support - Krystal Hosting / Krystal Hosting – service status reports. to see if there is any global problems, if there isn't then it's almost certainly your end - so send us a ticket and we will help you.

    Also if you've been hacked then put a ticket in and we can either restore a backup, or give you a big list of files that have been compromised.

    And don't forget we have phone support 0845 2000 699 (local rate) if it's urgent!

    Regards,

    Tom
    Krystal
     
  15. retired_member32

    retired_member32 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2007
    Posts:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    21
    sorry tom this was my end not yours,i have an absolute nightmare since i downloaded IE8 which i have now removed,your support team are getting really slow it took them all of 1 minute to reply to my support ticket,if this doesn't improve i will look for another host :rolleyes:
     
  16. Skinner

    Skinner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2008
    Posts:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    81
    Good to hear that Krystal have modded their FTP :) So many hosts haven't bothered :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page