Domain Manage

Krystal Down - Nameservers Changed

Discussion in 'Hosting' started by Slater, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slater United Kingdom

    Slater Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone else use Krystal, their main website and all the domains I host with them are down.

    What's strange is that the whois for all the domain I had pointing to ns1.krystalhosting.co.uk and ns2.krystalhosting.co.uk now point to ns1.groupabc.co.uk and ns2.groupabc.co.uk.

    Groupabc.co.uk was resgistered today and registrant shows as "Advanced Web Designs" with registrant type as individual.

    Is Krystal making changes or been hacked ? Has Nominet changed all the Name Server records to the wrong ones ?

    Anyone else seeing this on any domain they have with Krystal.

    Mark.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. beaneys United Kingdom

    beaneys Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2005
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seeing the same with some sites I have with them.
     
  4. boxfish United Kingdom

    boxfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2010
    Posts:
    852
    Likes Received:
    34
    I have 2 sites with them on the same hosting package. One is up, one is down. Both have had the nameservers changed.
     
  5. Retired_member41

    Retired_member41 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    55
    Arghh I'm sat with dodgy wifi and won't be able to leave for hours. Just noticed my works web site is down and we had someone due to work on it this afternoon.

    Think I should have taken a backup more recent than i did.

    They are very professional
    There though and have always had lots of backups in the past.

    Maybe they have just sold some of the business to advanced web designs.

    As always I'm guessing all will be ok shortly.

    Added

    Just noticed on Whois that the ip address has just changed after the naneserver domain. Ten minutes ago it was the familiar 77 etc and now it's somewhere else.

    How do they change the nameservers by the way with a domain on our tag?
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  6. Slater United Kingdom

    Slater Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Likes Received:
    6
    Dont think ns1.groupabc.co.uk is going to work as no name servers allocated to groupabc.co.uk

    Also strange groupabc.co.uk only registered today
     
  7. Retired_member41

    Retired_member41 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    55
    The nameservers now seem to be pointing back to the old ip addresses. Anyone know how this is happening?

    I thought either me or my partner could only change this.
     
  8. killaclown

    killaclown Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2006
    Posts:
    311
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just checked know and some of my sites are up just fine some are not.

    Ive never had any trouble with kyrstal before.

    Hope they get it sorted quickly.
     
  9. Retired_member41

    Retired_member41 Retired Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2010
    Posts:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    55
    Well I never knew that. Just had a phone call to say its just Krystal changing nameservers.

    Never knew that.

    I thought anything we typed into nominets nameserver section stayed the same. Didn't know the naneserver owner could make changes without the tag holder knowing.

    He's just logged into old server Apollo and no web site was there. So they must just be moving stuff.
     
  10. Slater United Kingdom

    Slater Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, I didn't realise a 3rd party could make nameserver changes on one of your domains, guessing they contact Nominet and get them to do a bulk change from the old nameserver name to the new one.

    Wonder if all these changes have anything to do with the slow response I'm seeing from DAC at moment.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2012
  11. 360360

    360360 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2010
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would have been nice if they let us know. Just had a client ask me why his site was down! have been great up until today....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page