Domain Manage

moving hdd to new computer - help!

Discussion in 'General Board' started by diablo, Feb 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    My computer won´t start. It powers up but no beeps. Have checked all connections, etc., and even replaced power unit, but no joy.

    Next step is to move the hdd to a new computer.

    Is this an easy job?

    Can I just take it out of one computer and put it in a new one or is it a complicated procedure?

    I´m also thinking of putting it in an old computer. Can you just unplug the hdd already in it and plug in the one from my recently deceased computer? Or is that too simple?

    The hdd I want to move has Vista. Old computer probably XP and if I buy a new one Windows 7.

    Any help much appreciated.
     
  2. Domain Forum

    Acorn Domains Elite Member

    Joined:
    1999
    Messages:
    Many
    Likes Received:
    Lots
     
  3. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    You can generally move the HDD, if it is SATA, then it should drop in as D: (or your next free drive letter) and you can then recover the data.

    You may need to "take ownership" of directories to gain access to data if there are permissions problems.

    Alternatively you can get a cheap USB caddie and pop the HDD in there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    Monaghan - you have made my day!

    I never knew you could get a USB caddie, but that would be a brilliant solution. Plus I could presumably use it for another HDD I have kicking about that I salvaged a few years ago.

    How will I know if the HDD is SATA?
     
  5. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    52
    Do you get anything on screen can you get to the bios etc.

    If not moving your hard drive to copy files should be pretty easy.
    If your talking about being able to boot your old operating sytem then thats were it becomes more tricky if the system runs the same chipset / graphics then it may boot give it a try
     
  6. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    No nothing to screen (monitor works - I checked it on another PC). Just powers up , fan goes, etc., but nothing further.

    The simplest solution seems to be that caddie.
     
  7. Edwin

    Edwin Well-Known Member Exclusive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2005
    Posts:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    261
    This kind of thing would support both IDE and SATA drives and let you plug the HDD into a different computer using a USB 2.0 port
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/sata-and-ide-hdd-docking-station-with-hub-and-cardreader-388318

    NOTE: they have a note about Western Digital drives potentially being incompatible with the above. NOTE 2: this is just to give you an idea of the kind of device you COULD buy - I'm not suggesting you need to get this particular make/model and I don't have any first-hand experience of using it.
     
  8. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    IDE is a wide ribbon cable with pin and socket, SATA is narrower with an edge connector, often the SATA cables are red / orange. If the computer has been made in the last 3 years it will almost certainly be SATA.

    Update: As Edwin suggests, you can get USB devices that will support IDE & SATA. I have a standalone device that will do 3.5" & 2.5" IDE and SATA, this has no caddie and an external power supply and only really suitable for bench repair. You can get USB caddies quite cheap from ebay & ebuyer.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  9. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25
    moving the hard drive has to be easier than changing the power supply? :)

    in the caddie you dont really want to boot from that, just use it to get the valuable data off it and then format (if the drive works) and start again
     
  10. AssetDomains United Kingdom

    AssetDomains Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2010
    Posts:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    52
    Whats the graphics setup on PC do they run from a dedicated card or on-board from the motherboard

    If they were runing from a graphics card and your motherboard has the option of on-board graphics
    Unplug the graphics card and give the on-board a try

    Finally you could try reseting the bios by moving the jumper to reset then moving it back
     
  11. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    @ monaghan. Yes says 2008 on hdd and is connected by a flat black connector with red and yellow wires so I think it is SATA. I really need to learn more about what goes on inside these boxes that sit on my desk :)

    I see there are ones for 2.5 and 3.5 hdd. I am assuming its the width of the hdd?

    @ charlie. Really amazed I managed to change the power supply! But I did. First thing I have ever changed in a PC bar memory in 15 years!

    I was hoping to just plug the caddie into another PC and it would be like an external hard drive. Is that how it would work? I could then retrieve the data. Does it matter if the operating systems are different or will it ignore the one on the hdd in the caddie?
     
  12. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    3.5 is the width in inches of the hard disk.

    A USB caddie is in effect a DIY external hard drive and can in most cases just plug in and work. As mentioned before, you may need to take ownership or tweak file permissions to get to some files. Applications will need to be re-installed on the new PC as the app installation will usually make registry changes, but data should be fine.
     
  13. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    Thanks to everyone who is chipping in. t´s really appreciated.

    Mine is Western Digital, but compatability issues seem to be with IDE not SATA so hopefully should be fine.

    No separate graphic card. Trying to locate jumper as I type :)

    My hdd seems to be 4" wide. Is that going to be correct?
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  14. expertc

    expertc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2009
    Posts:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    16
    4" means it's 3.5" drive ;) IDE enclosures are still availible, though not so easy to find. Try Amazon. Good luck!
     
  15. monaghan United Kingdom

    monaghan Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2007
    Posts:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    45
    3.5 inch is the platter size, the housing will add a bit to the width. The one sat on my desk at the moment is 4 inch.
     
  16. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
  17. expertc

    expertc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2009
    Posts:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    16
    If it's SATA (has cable like this)

    [​IMG]

    yes!
     
  18. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yes that's the cable.

    I ordered the caddie linked to above. Reviews seemed good for it.

    I will let you know how it goes.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  19. charlie

    charlie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2004
    Posts:
    2,613
    Likes Received:
    25
    exactly what i would do.
    you boot from the host computer first then plug the usb with the old hard drive in after - that way it wont boot from the old disk by mistake. the boot sequence only happens once after that it will only recognise the windows folder on the caddie as any other folder.

    depending on what works and what doesnt you could get copy of ubuntu or some linux software that runs from disc (no HD required) and you can copy smaller data files onto a usb key, also do a hardware/disc check.
     
  20. FagEnd

    FagEnd Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 2009
    Posts:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    32
    It's easy enough to switch drives between computers, just change the housing holding the drive. I've done it several times. If the drives are different then you can easily recover the data using a USB IDE/Sata adaptor like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/USB-SATA-Adaptor-Cable-Power/dp/B000R18ZNQ/ref=pd_cp_ce_1
    I got one from Amazon for about 12 quid and it has been a lifesaver a couple of times. Handy bit of kit to have lying around.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  21. diablo

    diablo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2005
    Posts:
    1,567
    Likes Received:
    28
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page